Tater-Dipped Eggplant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
This recipe was delicious. My husband also was complaining about eggplant for dinner but ended up eating more than half of the eggplant. I used the rest of the mashed potato flakes to bread pork chops the next night and it was awesome. It was like having mashed potatoes with our pork! Maybe I'll try chicken next...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tamaqua, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
This was the first time I have eaten eggplant,and I was very impressed with this recepie fattboyoc52
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canon City, Colorado, USA
Living In: Abilene, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
Unfortunately, this one wasn't a hit with the family. It definetely needs more seasoning, where eggplant is such a bland veggie. I love eggplant, but wouldn't make this again. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
I love love love this recipe!! Its the best way to have eggplant! I dont change a thing, its awesome as is! I am going to try and bread chicken with the potatoe crumbs tonight, wish me luck!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DANA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Altus, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Mukilteo, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2007
This was a great idea, my son scoffed them down. Both my husband and I found them to be lacking in flavor so may simnply season the eggplant next time. Thanks for a great starting idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2007
Very good, next time I will add more seasoning though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
This recipe is a great one to 'build' on! I modified by adding ground parmesan, Italian bread crumbs, and powdered garlic to the potato flakes. My potatoes were low sodium so I had to add some salt. Also, I used half the butter and added some olive oil and sprayed tops with canola nonstick spray. I didn't flip'em, they really didn't need it, but next time I may do that because they were a 'little' crunchier on the bottom. This was my sons (12 yo) first go at eggplant, needless to say he intitially said "ain't gonna do it" but he tried a bite and then ate 3 slices! Imagine that... ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SOAPSTER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
I made these as an appetizer the other day but used zucchini instead of eggplant and red-skinned (rather than plain) instant potatoes. I also used only about 3 tablespoons of butter because that's all I had and they came out great. My friend and I devoured the whole pan and she had warned me ahead of time that she didn't like zucchini at all. They came out great -- very flavourful, not too buttery or greasy. I'm definitely looking forward to trying this again with the eggplant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: West Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2007
Delicious! To lower fat and calories, I used 2 Tbsp. of light margarine instead of butter. I also sprinkled a little parmesan cheese on top of each slice before serving. This dish reminded me of fried eggplant, but without the guilt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
I followed the recipe and then after I turned them I topped each with a dollop of pizza sauce and shredded cheese. Doing this made it possible for me to fool my 3 year old into thinking they were little pizzas! Worked like a charm and tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Eggplant Parmesan II

See how to make a delicious no-fry version of eggplant parmesan.

How to Make Grilled Eggplant Salad

Enjoy exotic northern African flavors in this grilled eggplant and pepper salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States