Tater-Dipped Eggplant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
I would give this recipe 4 stars for easy and simplicity, but I found the taste to be just a tad bland. I like my eggplant cooked a little spicier. Nice recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
This recipe was a big hit with me and my family. Even my 4 yr old really like these. Especially when I added some shredded cheese on top. This one is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lena W.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moultrie, Georgia, USA
Living In: Valdosta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
We really enjoyed this. The second time I made it I forgot about the butter, still edible and good but a bit dry, and everything always tastes better with butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
This is fabulous! I added panko (Japanese breadcrumbs - flaky, sweet and crunchy) to the potato mix and used a little olive oil in the baking pan as well as spraying olive oil on top of the eggplant before flipping over. No need for butter and olive oil is healthier. Love parmesan cheese in the mix, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
Great idea. The mashed potatoes got crispy - it was close to fried eggplant. But, it did need a good bit of seasoning in the mashed potatoes - they were bland by themselves. A good bit of salt and pepper helps, from there, go with Italian, Greek, herbs d' provence, etc. Thanks for posting -
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
Thank you!! I needed a new recipe for eggplant and found this one to be great. I did add some parmesan, italian seasoning and basil to the potato flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pleasant Prairie, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
My husband is not a fan of eggplant, but loved this. I only used 2 T butter and it was still a little greasy for my taste. I will try again next time with olive oil. Also, added some breadcrumbs and garlic powder to mashed potato flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MarieM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Oyster Bay, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
It was OK, both 15 year old and 11 year old girls liked it better than I did. My 15 year old gave it 4 stars. I tweaked it a bit. First off, used olive oil to coat the pan, why use butter? Olive oil made so much more sense. Then added Creamy Italian dressing to TWO eggs, and then added a great garlic seasoning that has Parmesan cheese in it to the instant potato's. Cut at a bit larger than an inch, and two slices per person were enough. Will slice it thinner next time. Finishing another small batch in the oven as I type this. We also added Parmesan cheese when we took it out of the oven. Served it with pasta, and it was a great meal, and very filling. Was very fast and easy to make. I look forward to trying it with zucchini this summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
Made this tonight and my husband and I thought it was overwhelmingly tasteless and dry even though I added spices to the potato flakes. Instead of butter I sprayed the cookie sheet with olive oil Pam. I love eggplant and this dish made me not like it at all.......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Trisha
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
I really liked these, my husband just looks at me when I try to give him eggplant [not one of his favorites] So I'm not adding his or my sons reveiw. Any way I had 'Butter and Herb' potatoe flakes; Just alittle salt afterwards. YUM. I have a spray bottle of " I Can't Beleive It's Not Butter," No calories, I used that to spray on them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Eggplant Parmesan II

See how to make a delicious no-fry version of eggplant parmesan.

How to Make Grilled Eggplant Salad

Enjoy exotic northern African flavors in this grilled eggplant and pepper salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States