Tater-Dipped Eggplant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2002
Tried this recipe and LOVED IT!!! I always have to make "my own variation" of a recipe--so-- I reduced the butter to 2 tbs and also sprayed the entire baking sheet with butter flavored Pam, added Italian seasoned bread crumbs to the "taters" and sprayed butter flavored Pam on the tops before baking. Then, I cooked it for 15 minutes each side---it was wonderful!! Crispy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2005
I will never bread eggplant any other way! I KNEW potato flakes were good for something aside from mashed potatoes!! I added some parmesan, basil and no-salt seasoning to the mix and ommitted the salt, but next time I WILL add a little salt b/c I feel it was needed... Also, make sure you use the full amount of butter or coat the slices with it before baking, b/c I cut the amount and some of my slices would not brown on both sides after I flipped them. You could also spray these with nonfat Pam or an olive oil spray for a healthier version... In any case, these are delicious and I will use potato flake breading for EVERYTHING! Can't wait to try it on fish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2006
To be honest I am not to crazy about eggplant, but I did try this recipe and change the regular instant potatoes to Idahoan Loaded Baked (Blended with butter, sour cream, cheese, bacon, onion & chives) and used 1 tsp of cayenne pepper. Served them with some homemade salsa...and my friends could not keep from raving about the new appetizers I served.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2002
Very good! My husband who "normally doesn't like eggplant" had two slices and my 8 year old son ate three slices. Admittedly, I did doctor the recipe a bit by adding some Italian seasoning and fresh grated parmesan cheese to the potato flakes. I will serve this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2006
Be sure to cut the eggplant in thick slices - mine were too thin and tasted disturbingly like potato chips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
This recipe is a great one to 'build' on! I modified by adding ground parmesan, Italian bread crumbs, and powdered garlic to the potato flakes. My potatoes were low sodium so I had to add some salt. Also, I used half the butter and added some olive oil and sprayed tops with canola nonstick spray. I didn't flip'em, they really didn't need it, but next time I may do that because they were a 'little' crunchier on the bottom. This was my sons (12 yo) first go at eggplant, needless to say he intitially said "ain't gonna do it" but he tried a bite and then ate 3 slices! Imagine that... ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SOAPSTER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
I made these as an appetizer the other day but used zucchini instead of eggplant and red-skinned (rather than plain) instant potatoes. I also used only about 3 tablespoons of butter because that's all I had and they came out great. My friend and I devoured the whole pan and she had warned me ahead of time that she didn't like zucchini at all. They came out great -- very flavourful, not too buttery or greasy. I'm definitely looking forward to trying this again with the eggplant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Wenger Woodburn

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: West Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
We have fresh thin eggplant from our garden. I use "butter and herb" potato flakes. To simplify I use small plastic sandwich bags for the egg and for the potato flakes. Shake the eggplant slices and follow recipe. Yum !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabeth, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2006
I tried this for supper tonight. Hubby was skeptical at the idea, but is now raving about it - and wants more! I added parmesan and garlic pepper to the potato flakes, did NOT add the salt, and used only as much butter as I needed for the amount of eggplant I was cooking. The eggplant came out crispy and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2007
Delicious! To lower fat and calories, I used 2 Tbsp. of light margarine instead of butter. I also sprinkled a little parmesan cheese on top of each slice before serving. This dish reminded me of fried eggplant, but without the guilt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Eggplant Parmesan II

See how to make a delicious no-fry version of eggplant parmesan.

How to Make Grilled Eggplant Salad

Enjoy exotic northern African flavors in this grilled eggplant and pepper salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States