Tater-Dipped Eggplant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2002
Tried this recipe and LOVED IT!!! I always have to make "my own variation" of a recipe--so-- I reduced the butter to 2 tbs and also sprayed the entire baking sheet with butter flavored Pam, added Italian seasoned bread crumbs to the "taters" and sprayed butter flavored Pam on the tops before baking. Then, I cooked it for 15 minutes each side---it was wonderful!! Crispy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2002
Very good! My husband who "normally doesn't like eggplant" had two slices and my 8 year old son ate three slices. Admittedly, I did doctor the recipe a bit by adding some Italian seasoning and fresh grated parmesan cheese to the potato flakes. I will serve this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2002
Pretty good. I added balsalmic vinegar afterward.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Misawa, Aomori, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2003
I'm always looking for different ways to serve veggies, and this recipe was very good! I would cut back on the butter next time and also try some of the other suggestions for added seasonings (just for variety -- it's quite tasty the way it is).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2003
I enjoy eggplant, but haven't found a fried eggplant recipe that doesn't use oil on top of the stove. I didn't taste like a grease pattie. I have shared this recipe with friends and they have enjoyed it as much as myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2003
This was such any easy and surprisingly quick.The potato flakes give it such a nice crispy taste. I made a big batch and put it in the freezer to take out for later. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2004
This is an excellent recipe! As a vegetarian I often have a hard time finding things that the whole family will enjoy. Eggplant is the hardest thing to serve to the family. They all loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2004
Good, but I thought the breaded eggplant cutlets were way too salty. No other reviewers had mentioned this, so I thought that maybe I'd accidentally used too much salt. That wasn't the case. I used 1 tsp as the recipe calls for. I will make this again, but only use maybe a 1/4 tsp next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Pompano Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2004
First, I peeled and sliced the eggplant. Laid out on a paper towel and salted. Let it sit for about 10 minutes. Rinse and continue. After reading reviews, I only used 2T butter which seemed like plenty. I added about 1/2 cup italian bread crumbs and a teaspoon of italian seasoning to my potato flakes and NO salt. Next time, and there will be a next time, I'll try some parmesan cheese in the flakes and more seasoning. They were very good but I feel like they need a little kick of something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2005
Very tasty! Fried taste, without the greasy, heaviness. Made as directed, but added in some extra spices: oregeno and basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Eggplant Parmesan II

See how to make a delicious no-fry version of eggplant Parmesan.

How to Make Grilled Eggplant Salad

Enjoy exotic northern African flavors in this grilled eggplant and pepper salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States