Tater-Dipped Eggplant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
I made these as an appetizer the other day but used zucchini instead of eggplant and red-skinned (rather than plain) instant potatoes. I also used only about 3 tablespoons of butter because that's all I had and they came out great. My friend and I devoured the whole pan and she had warned me ahead of time that she didn't like zucchini at all. They came out great -- very flavourful, not too buttery or greasy. I'm definitely looking forward to trying this again with the eggplant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Wenger Woodburn

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: West Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2007
Delicious! To lower fat and calories, I used 2 Tbsp. of light margarine instead of butter. I also sprinkled a little parmesan cheese on top of each slice before serving. This dish reminded me of fried eggplant, but without the guilt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
I followed the recipe and then after I turned them I topped each with a dollop of pizza sauce and shredded cheese. Doing this made it possible for me to fool my 3 year old into thinking they were little pizzas! Worked like a charm and tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
Tasted too much like potato. I used store brand potato flakes maybe I should have used better. Won't be making this again, but thanks, always willing to try an eggplant recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Randolph, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2006
Messy, requires more than one egg, but a good way to eat eggplant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2006
This was o.k. It tasted more like potato than eggplant. I parmed what I had left and it was really good. I will probably stick with my regular recipe for parm though because of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mc Keesport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Leroy Township, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2006
I had some Japanese eggplant from my garden that needed to be used up. This was perfect. Because of the long, thin shape, I cut the eggplant into wedges about 4" long. I also had a zucchini from the garden that I cut into rounds. I'm always suspicious of a recipe that calls for a 450 degree oven (easy to burn and dry out ingredients). Thanks to my digital oven controls I was able to cook the vegetables at 420-435(I started out at 420, then upped to 435 after turning.)The results were wonderful. What a nice recipe. We will make this again and again. Served it with marinated steak tips and chicken breasts from our local market. An easy and delicious late summer mid-week dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Exeter, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2006
This was very tasty, just like fried eggplant! It's a great way to get the fried taste without stinking up your kitchen with a pot of grease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2006
my husband looked pretty disappointed at dinner when i said we were having eggplant... but he loved it and ate it up - yay! I used margarine instead of butter and added some extra spices like other reviewers said... I had a lot leftover and saved the potato flakes for another time... I think this would be a great way to dip zucchini rounds as well... I will make this again - it's easy and tastes great... though a bit on the salty side - i'd use 1/2 teaspoon salt instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarKitty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minden, Nevada, USA
Living In: Eindhoven, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2006
To be honest I am not to crazy about eggplant, but I did try this recipe and change the regular instant potatoes to Idahoan Loaded Baked (Blended with butter, sour cream, cheese, bacon, onion & chives) and used 1 tsp of cayenne pepper. Served them with some homemade salsa...and my friends could not keep from raving about the new appetizers I served.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Baked Eggplant Sandwiches

See how to make eggplant sandwiches stuffed with salami and cheese.

Eggplant Lasagna

Layers of breaded roasted eggplant with ground beef, tomato sauce, and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States