Tater-Dipped Eggplant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
Tasted too much like potato. I used store brand potato flakes maybe I should have used better. Won't be making this again, but thanks, always willing to try an eggplant recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Randolph, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2006
Messy, requires more than one egg, but a good way to eat eggplant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2006
This was o.k. It tasted more like potato than eggplant. I parmed what I had left and it was really good. I will probably stick with my regular recipe for parm though because of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mc Keesport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Leroy Township, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2006
I had some Japanese eggplant from my garden that needed to be used up. This was perfect. Because of the long, thin shape, I cut the eggplant into wedges about 4" long. I also had a zucchini from the garden that I cut into rounds. I'm always suspicious of a recipe that calls for a 450 degree oven (easy to burn and dry out ingredients). Thanks to my digital oven controls I was able to cook the vegetables at 420-435(I started out at 420, then upped to 435 after turning.)The results were wonderful. What a nice recipe. We will make this again and again. Served it with marinated steak tips and chicken breasts from our local market. An easy and delicious late summer mid-week dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Exeter, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2006
This was very tasty, just like fried eggplant! It's a great way to get the fried taste without stinking up your kitchen with a pot of grease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2006
my husband looked pretty disappointed at dinner when i said we were having eggplant... but he loved it and ate it up - yay! I used margarine instead of butter and added some extra spices like other reviewers said... I had a lot leftover and saved the potato flakes for another time... I think this would be a great way to dip zucchini rounds as well... I will make this again - it's easy and tastes great... though a bit on the salty side - i'd use 1/2 teaspoon salt instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarKitty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minden, Nevada, USA
Living In: Eindhoven, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2006
To be honest I am not to crazy about eggplant, but I did try this recipe and change the regular instant potatoes to Idahoan Loaded Baked (Blended with butter, sour cream, cheese, bacon, onion & chives) and used 1 tsp of cayenne pepper. Served them with some homemade salsa...and my friends could not keep from raving about the new appetizers I served.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
Though this was edible, the crust tasted a bit like overcooked potato chips. (And I didn't over cook) I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HARMONYGIRL79

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olathe, Kansas, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2006
DH has grown eggplant for 3 years and this is the first time I have liked this veggie. I used no butter - just PAM - and added cayenne and Italian seasoning with Parmesan on top. It took more potatoes than the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2006
I tried this for supper tonight. Hubby was skeptical at the idea, but is now raving about it - and wants more! I added parmesan and garlic pepper to the potato flakes, did NOT add the salt, and used only as much butter as I needed for the amount of eggplant I was cooking. The eggplant came out crispy and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Eggplant Parmesan II

See how to make a delicious no-fry version of eggplant parmesan.

How to Make Grilled Eggplant Salad

Enjoy exotic northern African flavors in this grilled eggplant and pepper salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States