Tater-Dipped Eggplant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
Though this was edible, the crust tasted a bit like overcooked potato chips. (And I didn't over cook) I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HARMONYGIRL79

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olathe, Kansas, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2006
DH has grown eggplant for 3 years and this is the first time I have liked this veggie. I used no butter - just PAM - and added cayenne and Italian seasoning with Parmesan on top. It took more potatoes than the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2006
I tried this for supper tonight. Hubby was skeptical at the idea, but is now raving about it - and wants more! I added parmesan and garlic pepper to the potato flakes, did NOT add the salt, and used only as much butter as I needed for the amount of eggplant I was cooking. The eggplant came out crispy and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2006
This was AWESOME!!!! I added some onion & garlic powder and parmesan cheese to my flakes. Turned out crispy on outside and perfectly cooked eggplant on inside. I ate mine with a little bit of warmed up spaghetti sauce (I didn't have marinara :)).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: College Station, Texas, USA
Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2006
I tried some peeled and unpeeled and liked the unpeeled ones better. Overall very good although the microwaved leftovers tasted better the next day--more time for the flakes to get mushy I guess! It sure is hard to get clumpy mashed potato flakes off your fingers!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2006
Be sure to cut the eggplant in thick slices - mine were too thin and tasted disturbingly like potato chips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
This was so good. My 4 year old ate 3 big slices!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Chester, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mark P
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2005
Fantastic! Really tastes like battered deep-fried eggplant, with a soft inside and fairly crispy outside. I found it hard not to eat all four servings myself in one sitting. Despite not adding any salt, I found these a tad salty simply from all the salt in the mashed potato flakes I used. So don't add salt! Like other reviewers, I only used two tablespoons of butter because that seemed like plenty (and would make the recipe healthier). (Remember, all the butter gets soaked up by the eggplant, and the recipe calls for a lot of butter!) As an experiment, I once added a little more butter when I flipped the eggplant, and those pieces ended up a little too buttery/greasy for me, though others may like them that way. Incidentally, I found I needed two eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2005
I like this reciped cooked in the oven better than on the stovetop. Crispy outside. Sprinkled parmesan cheese on after turning. After reading other reviews, I decided to add salt after they were cooked rather than into the egg mixture. I will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2005
This was pretty good, not my favorite way to prepare eggplant but a nice alternative. I think next time I might mix this with a bit of cornmeal to get more of a crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Baked Eggplant Sandwiches

See how to make eggplant sandwiches stuffed with salami and cheese.

Eggplant Parmesan II

See how to make a delicious no-fry version of eggplant Parmesan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States