Tater-Dipped Eggplant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2006
I tried some peeled and unpeeled and liked the unpeeled ones better. Overall very good although the microwaved leftovers tasted better the next day--more time for the flakes to get mushy I guess! It sure is hard to get clumpy mashed potato flakes off your fingers!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2006
Be sure to cut the eggplant in thick slices - mine were too thin and tasted disturbingly like potato chips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
This was so good. My 4 year old ate 3 big slices!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Chester, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mark P
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2005
Fantastic! Really tastes like battered deep-fried eggplant, with a soft inside and fairly crispy outside. I found it hard not to eat all four servings myself in one sitting. Despite not adding any salt, I found these a tad salty simply from all the salt in the mashed potato flakes I used. So don't add salt! Like other reviewers, I only used two tablespoons of butter because that seemed like plenty (and would make the recipe healthier). (Remember, all the butter gets soaked up by the eggplant, and the recipe calls for a lot of butter!) As an experiment, I once added a little more butter when I flipped the eggplant, and those pieces ended up a little too buttery/greasy for me, though others may like them that way. Incidentally, I found I needed two eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2005
I like this reciped cooked in the oven better than on the stovetop. Crispy outside. Sprinkled parmesan cheese on after turning. After reading other reviews, I decided to add salt after they were cooked rather than into the egg mixture. I will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2005
This was pretty good, not my favorite way to prepare eggplant but a nice alternative. I think next time I might mix this with a bit of cornmeal to get more of a crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2005
I haven't made this recipe yet so I can't review it. I just wanted to tell you all to check the sodium content of the potato flakes. Some brands are higher than others and that will effect the outome of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2005
I will never bread eggplant any other way! I KNEW potato flakes were good for something aside from mashed potatoes!! I added some parmesan, basil and no-salt seasoning to the mix and ommitted the salt, but next time I WILL add a little salt b/c I feel it was needed... Also, make sure you use the full amount of butter or coat the slices with it before baking, b/c I cut the amount and some of my slices would not brown on both sides after I flipped them. You could also spray these with nonfat Pam or an olive oil spray for a healthier version... In any case, these are delicious and I will use potato flake breading for EVERYTHING! Can't wait to try it on fish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2005
The texture's awesome--golden brown and crispy on the outside, smooth and creamy on the inside. I made the recipe a wee bit more heart-friendly by using olive oil instead of butter, but otherwise followed the directions as given. The results were VERY salty, with little other flavor. I love eggplant, so I wasn't unhappy, but if I were to prepare this again I'd add onion powder and maybe a hint of garlic powder to the egg mixture, and probably cut out the salt altogether (it's as easy to salt something like this on the plate, to taste).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wilkes Barre, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2005
Very tasty! Fried taste, without the greasy, heaviness. Made as directed, but added in some extra spices: oregeno and basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Eggplant Parmesan II

See how to make a delicious no-fry version of eggplant parmesan.

How to Make Grilled Eggplant Salad

Enjoy exotic northern African flavors in this grilled eggplant and pepper salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States