Tater-Dipped Eggplant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
This is a great recipe to introduce eggplant to people who have never eaten it before. Will make this again and again! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PolkaDot

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
I was so disappointed in this recipe. I followed it exactly and it was super bland. I even used flavored potato flakes. It ruined the nice taste of the eggplant. I will definitely not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Hendrickson
Living In: Irving, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
instead of using butter I lightly rubbed both sides with mayo before dipping into the egg mixture. came out nice and crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
If you stick to the recipe, I'd have to give it a 3 because of it's blandness. However, it is a great base. I will say that I used the footnote method and used the frying pan since I didn't have a baking dish that would hold all the eggplant. I fried a couple to taste, then I had to make some changes. To improve, just add your own spices. I subbed garlic salt for reg to the egg mixture. I also added garlic powder and parm cheese to the potato mixture. This helped. I will make again, but I will have to add to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keebdaisy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
An ok way to prepare eggplant, with the added benefit that it's gluten-free. I coated both sides of the eggplant. The coating stayed on nicely, but didn't brown as much as I would have liked, even after leaving in the oven for an extra 10 minutes. I think it would be better with a little more flavor, so I might try adding some spices and maybe some parmesan cheese to the potato flakes before dredging next time. My son, who normally loves eggplant, did not like this recipe at all because of the potato taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Manalapan, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
Excellent! I love eggplant but hate that it's like a sponge when you fry it and it absorbs all the oil. This was a quick healthy alternative to previous attempts and I actually got my husband to do a "taste test"....he went back for seconds. Now that I have a good base to work with, the sky is the limit! Great input with all the reviews and, truthfully, I thought it tasted like a potato patty! Thanks for sharing a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
I just got done making this dish. Have to remind myself not to use salted butter. I got double bombed with salt. Had some trouble getting the instant mashed potato to stick. So what I had left I threw all of it together and mixed it. Then poured it in a pan. Other than that, I loved it. I will make it again. I also added some sharp shredded cheese after it was baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
YUMMY!! I loved this recipe! Didn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
My wife and I really love this recipe. We spice it up a little with more black pepper and cayenne pepper. Also added some parmesan cheese to the potato flakes. This is a keeper and we have been blessed with more eggplant this summer than we knew what to do with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
Pretty good. Could have used a little more spice. substitued red potatoes chopped finely instead of fake potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amberkirky

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Eggplant Parmesan II

See how to make a delicious no-fry version of eggplant parmesan.

How to Make Grilled Eggplant Salad

Enjoy exotic northern African flavors in this grilled eggplant and pepper salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States