Tater Crisp Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
Great and SIMPLE recipe. I used eggs instead of melted butter and baked the chicken on a jelly roll pan on a rack. Turned the chicken after 30 minutes and baked for 30 minutes longer. Could not have been more crisp or moist, even if I had soaked it in a brine fried it in oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
This chicken was pretty good! The only reason I didn't go with 5 starts was because I did add salt and pepper to the potato flakes (my only alteration) and without that, it would have been bland. Next time I may add a bit more seasonings too. This chicken comes out nice and crispy. I had the family pack of legs so I put 14 legs on one cookie sheet (and yes, there was enough butter and potato flakes to cover 14 legs with some to spare) and they were too crowded and didn't brown on the sides as much as I would have liked. My fault. Be sure to leave enough space between each leg so they can brown nicely. OH, AND BE SURE TO LINE YOUR COOKIE SHEET WITH FOIL FOR EASY CLEAN UP. That wasn't fun to was even though I used PAM. Thank, I will make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2005
Very yummy! I made the following additions: 1/4 cup Parmesan cheese to potato flakes. Sprinkle chicken (in pan) with salt, pepper, chicken seasoning. Broil on high for final 8-10 minutes. Everyone loved this, & I loved that it's not fried!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2006
Very good! I just added some paprika, onion powder, and chicken seasoning as well as the salt and pepper to the potato flakes before dipping the chicken in. Also, used chicken strips instead of legs and cooked for about 30 minutes. Used dairy free margarine- made a great wheat, egg, and dairy free meal for those of us who are allergic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
I loved it. I used garlic flavored potato flakes and added some italian seasoning (parsley, basil, oregano, etc) to the mixture. If you like your chicken extra crispy you can cook it on a regular pan (cookie sheet w/ edges). I will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ACRISS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA
Living In: Yuma, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2005
As soon as I saw this recipe I knew I had to try it. besides I had the ingredients in-house so I went for it. Turned out great and crispy I think I'm gonna use this resipe in the future because it's so easy. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
Be careful not to overdo the potato flakes. I think I got too much potato and it didn't crisp up quite right. It might help to rotate the chicken during cooking to make sure that enough butter soaks into the potato flakes. I added just a touch of the following spices for added flavor -- salt, pepper, onion powder, garlic powder, cayenne pepper and paprika.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
very very easy and delicious! have made it numerous times in past month.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2007
My Mom made this when I was a kid - it was wonderful then and still simple and wonderful now. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakland, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Troy, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
This was really good.. I added the spices like everyone suggested and it turned out good. I'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Wichita Falls, Texas, USA
Living In: Sedgwick, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken a la Mayo

See how to make succulent baked chicken with a crispy, corn flake crust.

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Exotic Pomegranate Chicken

Pomegranate juice makes a great marinade for baked chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States