Tater Crisp Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
I followed the lead of other members and added a few extras. I used two eggs to coat, then potato flakes, paprika, garlic powder, seasoned salt, pepper and parm cheese. The flavor was simple. I may add something to spice it up next time. Also, Ii didn't brown as well as I had hoped, but maybe I was being impatient!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
Absolutely the best chicken I have ever tasted. And the absolute easiest! My son hates chicken, but when he saw the brown golden color on those pieces, he had to have one. When my daughter heard the crunchy sounds, she had to try them. The whole chicken disappeared before my eyes. I had to add spices and salt to the flakes though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
It didn't come out as crispy as I would have liked it to be. But it was still good. I'll probably just continue to bake my chicken like normal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Definitely add some seasoning and parm. Overall, easy and different than the same old chicken. I did a few pieces with no butter or egg and they didn't brown as well. They tasted fine, but I think the butter gives a little flavor and seals juices in a little more. I don't use much, maybe two TBSP for eight tenders/drumsticks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
Very crisp, but a little bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
I followed the recipe with the suggestions of spices and egg instead of butter, but I was not as pleased as everyone else seemed to be. thought it was still bland even with spice addition. the potato flakes didn't cover the chicken well and honestly still tasted like potato flakes from the box after being cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
This was good. My bf and I liked it a lot. I used boneless skinless chicken breasts and instant mashed potatoes (because I thought they'd be flakes, but the were pellets, so I put them in the food processor until fine) and added some random spices from the spice cabinet. I also used an egg instead of the butter. I loved the way they turned out. The tops were crispy and the bottoms had a layer of mashed potatoes. Mmm... Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Morehead, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
family enjoyed, i thought they were a bit greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
Excellent recipe.My chicken was crispy on the outside and tender on the inside.I took the advice of another and used an egg instead of butter and added garlic powder, parm cheese and seasoning salt I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
This is a good "base" recipe. I used the Idahoan premium instant mashed potatoes and added my own seasonings: 1tsp McCormick Chicken Seasonings, 1/8 onion powder, 1/4 tsp Season All, 1/4 black pepper. Followed all other direction verbatim. Came out GREAT! My husband has always made better fried chicken. This recipe gives good competition to my husband's chicken and is sooooo much healthier! This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken a la Mayo

See how to make succulent baked chicken with a crispy, corn flake crust.

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Exotic Pomegranate Chicken

Pomegranate juice makes a great marinade for baked chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States