Tater Crisp Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
5-stars WITH SPICES. I used liberal amounts of garlic powder, cayenne, salt, and pepper. The potatoes have a mild taste, so won't interfere much with any spice combo you like. My main point in reviewing this recipe is to note that *parchment paper* really works well to keep the chicken and the coating from sticking to the (jelly roll) pan. Also, 1 stick of butter (not 2, as called for) is more than enough for 10 chicken legs. Overall, this dish has a great flavor and texture payoff with very little effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Victoria68
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
This was pretty good. I prefer my drumsticks grilled but we unexpectedly ran out of propane, I had a box of potato flakes sitting in the cupboard so this was Plan B. I had already marinated them overnight in garlic, montreal, season salt and pepper so they had plenty of flavor. I also added a little dried parsley to the potato flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria68

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
Used it with smaller chunks/nuggets of chicken. Added salt and Italian seasonings. Little boys liked it. Very easy, though took some time to bread all the chunks. Will probably use two Zip-lock bags next time, one for the butter and the other for the potato flakes. Cooked for 12 minutes at 425. I liked them too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
Healthier - brush chicken with olive oil and then lightly roll in the potato flakes and it will turn out fabulous! Don't coat the potatos too thick it is crispier when it is a super light coat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arnandlor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orangeville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
this recipe was ok... i found that the oven temp and cooking time to be way too high & long - i put my chicken in for no more then 30mins and they came out crispy on the outside and nice and juicy on the inside, and the oven was on 325 ... also had to add my own seasonings (even though i used butter/herb potatoes... might make it again ... and add even more extras....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atikokan, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Durham, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
Good starter recipe. I recommend you add your favorite spices to the potato flakes before you coat your chicken legs in it. I like to add dry ranch seasoning mix or dry taco seasoning mix but it's good with whatever spices you want to throw in. If you want to cut the fat, you can also dip it in an egg wash or even buttermilk before coating it in the dry potato mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
My family loved this. We used the garlic instant potatoes and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
Turned out pretty good. Need to keep extra toppics to throw on after flipping the chicken so it sticks on the other side as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mischief Managed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eureka, Missouri, USA
Living In: Golden, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lisa W.
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
Easy prep!! I added some minced garlic to the butter when I melted it to give it a little more flavor, and also added some Mrs. Dash and parmesan/romano cheese to the 'taters. Came out so juicy and crispy! Husband said it was great! Will make again for the in-laws :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa W.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
I used garlic mashed potato flakes and added salt and peper. This went over great with dinner friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken a la Mayo

See how to make succulent baked chicken with a crispy, corn flake crust.

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States