Tater Crisp Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 12, 2015
The nice thing about this recipe is that you can use the potato flakes as a base and season it however you'd like. Try something new and derive a favorite. Parmesan and Italian Seasoning is good. I've also used a bit of cayenne for a change and there's always the standard, salt, pepper, garlic and onion powder. It comes out crispier if you use a cookie sheet. You definitely need to line the pans with foil unless you enjoy scrubbing them afterwards. As for the cooking spray. I used to always use it, but I forgot it once and found that without it the pieces didn't stick near as badly as they did with it, so I don't use it anymore. Thanks for sharing, Krissy. It's a whole lot easier than frying and just as yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BonnieJo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
Nice idea, not much flavor. The chicken legs I used were rather large, so I baked them for 1.5 hours but they came out looking delicious. I added parmesean, garlic salt, parsley and minced onions to the flakes, and still used a little salt afterwards. Simple staple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
It's simply, yummy, and husband approved! 5 stars in my book :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Canales
Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lake Elmo, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gemini Taurus
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
this recipe came out yummy i just added Parmesan cheese and colby jack cheese in the potato flakes:) yummy will be adding this to dinner night!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
So easy that my teanagers can make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Redroni63

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
I didn't have potato flakes on hand so I used Italian bread crumbs & seasoned my chicken with pepper, seasoning salt, onion powder, & garlic powder. I also put about 2 cups of chicken stock in the casserole dish. My family loved it ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
I I used eggs instead of melted butter I salt and peppered legs before coating. I checked them at 30 minutes they looked almost done. checked with a thermometer at 40 minutes temp was at 160 at that point. So a hour would have been way too long. Oh BTW I only made 4 legs so I sprinkled the chicked with the potatoe flakes over a bowl then after I just heated up enough water for the flakes and made mashed potatoes. So no waste. also used the leftover egg and scrambles them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
I liked it fine (after adding spices) but the family wasn't crazy about it. The leftovers get pretty soggy in the fridge, so you really need to bake them again to crisp them up, which to me defeats the purpose of leftover night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
Instead of melted butter, I went with 1 egg, half a shot of spiced rum, about an ounce of canola oil, about an ounce of half & half, some beer, and some arrowroot to thicken things up. Stir with a fork in a 20 oz plastic disposable cup. Dunk a drumstick in, add beer until just the knee joint is showing, remove drumstick, remix with fork. I had some flour that was old enough the a baker friend of mine said would probably be horrible for baking cookies etc because it was too old. I added that to the instant garlic roasted mashed potatoes, (first time I have ever bought such a thing usually just buy potatoes & bake them). I mixed in some freshly grated Parmesan. I made several trips to the spice rack, dill seed & ground rosemary for sure, don't remember what else I tossed in there, my decisions at the spice rack tend to be spur of the moment. Dunk the drums in the wash, I put the potato etc mixture in a bit of Tupperware, I found I could get 2 drums in there at ounce, put the lid on and shook it like a cocktail shaker. I had purchased the super gigantor 16 pack of drumsticks, and they wouldn't all fit on a half pan. So I pressed my largest cast iron skillet to carry the over flow. The half pan and the skillet would not fit on the same rack in my oven. So one went on the middle rack, and the other went on the rack a slot or 2 above it. Cooked for 25 minutes, turned them over, juxtaposed the skillet and pan from center to top rack. Cooked another 25 minutes. Sprinkled parm ontop
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
I love this recipe. Instead of potato flakes I crush up some French's French Fried Onions and or potato chips crushed. Delicious and different! Very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken a la Mayo

See how to make succulent baked chicken with a crispy, corn flake crust.

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Baked Apricot Chicken

Quick and easy baked chicken recipe with only four ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States