Tater Crisp Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
Instead of melted butter, I went with 1 egg, half a shot of spiced rum, about an ounce of canola oil, about an ounce of half & half, some beer, and some arrowroot to thicken things up. Stir with a fork in a 20 oz plastic disposable cup. Dunk a drumstick in, add beer until just the knee joint is showing, remove drumstick, remix with fork. I had some flour that was old enough the a baker friend of mine said would probably be horrible for baking cookies etc because it was too old. I added that to the instant garlic roasted mashed potatoes, (first time I have ever bought such a thing usually just buy potatoes & bake them). I mixed in some freshly grated Parmesan. I made several trips to the spice rack, dill seed & ground rosemary for sure, don't remember what else I tossed in there, my decisions at the spice rack tend to be spur of the moment. Dunk the drums in the wash, I put the potato etc mixture in a bit of Tupperware, I found I could get 2 drums in there at ounce, put the lid on and shook it like a cocktail shaker. I had purchased the super gigantor 16 pack of drumsticks, and they wouldn't all fit on a half pan. So I pressed my largest cast iron skillet to carry the over flow. The half pan and the skillet would not fit on the same rack in my oven. So one went on the middle rack, and the other went on the rack a slot or 2 above it. Cooked for 25 minutes, turned them over, juxtaposed the skillet and pan from center to top rack. Cooked another 25 minutes. Sprinkled parm ontop
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
I love this recipe. Instead of potato flakes I crush up some French's French Fried Onions and or potato chips crushed. Delicious and different! Very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
I also give it a 4 only because there aren't any seasonings listed. I agree with CHRISCOOKING and DEFINITELY put foil down first it saves a lot of time. I added seasoning salt, garlic powder and cayenne pepper in with the potato flakes and everyone LOVED it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
This turned out really good! I took the advice of several people on here by mixing the potato flakes with bread crumbs. Then I added some chicken herb seasoning an instead of butter I used egg. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skylarsmommy10

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Portage, Indiana, USA
Living In: Coronado, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookingwife
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
Awesome kids and hubby loved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
I used butter and herb flavored potato flakes and it was delicious. I really enjoyed this recipe and will make it again for sure. My kids are pretty picky eaters and they were begging for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
This chicken was awesome and oh so EASY! I used olive oil instead of butter and seasoned the chicken with Morton's Nature's Seasoning (my favorite seasoning blend of all time!) I then added garlic and onion powder to the potatoe flakes as well as paprika. Came out crisp on the outside and oh so juicy on the inside! AND my kids obsolutley LOVED it and now I have to make this at least once a week! LOL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
I followed other reviews for added flavor. I added my own touch of Italian seasoning. The chicken was good but not crispy enough. Will make again but may alter amount of potato flakes I use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Char

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hammond, Indiana, USA
Living In: Burton, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2013
easy as can be and the whole family raved! I felt like a cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
Very quick and easy for a school night!! Thanks it's tasted great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken a la Mayo

See how to make succulent baked chicken with a crispy, corn flake crust.

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Exotic Pomegranate Chicken

Pomegranate juice makes a great marinade for baked chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States