Tasty Tuna Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
One thing I haven't seen is anyone recommending the usage of Panko Bread Crumbs. I suggest replacing half of the stated bread crumbs with Panko, forming the patties, letting them sit for 30 min to 1 hr and then patting them with Panko before frying. For the reviewers that find this mix to be too "mushy", first please remember that this is tuna in a can that has sat in water and salt or oil for months ( or years! ) prior to your opening the can. Canned tuna, in general, is mushy. One way around this, is to "Smush" the patties down to 1/4 or even 1/8 of an inch. With patties being this thin, they cook very quickly. I suggest cooking up two and laying a piece of cheese between! Another use for this recipe, which could be fun, is to roll the mixture into small balls, like meatballs, cool them, and then roll them in either Panko and skillet fry or bake, or to dip them in egg and flour and fry them ( like in a Fry Daddy ). The small balls make them really kid friendly and they can be stored up and used a hundred different ways... topping for salads, tuna subs, macaroni and cheese add-ins. Be creative! (PS: Omit the dill and add 1/3 C BBQ for a southwestern flare!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
Oh wow!!! these are great, I didn't think they would be, but they are wonderful. I made them like the recipe stated, and will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
Love tuna burgers!! I omit the dill, sub green bell peppers for the celery and red peppers, and use plain bread crumbs. I found that slipping an empty tuna can into a ziploc baggy makes the burger shaping easy and less messy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
They were OK, kind of like crab cakes. Unfortunately neither of my toddlers ate more than a bite of the burgers, they only ate the buns. :( I don't think I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
Substituted oatmeal for bread crumbs and ketchup for chili sauce out of necessity. Wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
I did not care for this recipe. I love tuna, followed the directions perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
Great tasting and economical! Very easily adjusted if you don't have all the ingredients or wish to change the flavour... I changed the chili sauce to Asian dressing and added garlic. I will certainly save this recipe and recommend it to my friends. The one can made 4 x 4" burgers which was a good size for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cheryl
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
I've never made tuna patties before and I wanted to see how my kids would receive them. My pickiest eater, Audrianna, loved them. She ate almost the whole thing and I made them pretty big.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zachary, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
The patties were way too liquidy. Even cooking them with a crusty outside, the inside was still too wet. Nothing at all like a burger. . It needs more breadcrumbs or something to give it some body so it is similar to a burger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
Very good with modifications. I make thai tuna sometimes(add thai red curry paste) and we tried burgers that way, so delicious! We never add the pepper or celery (SO hates celery, I hate pepper)and it seems that may have been for the best. When it comes to cooking, treat them like crab cakes and make sure they're not staying cold/uncooked inside. The flatter the better. Good spices to use (depending on your taste): thai red curry paste, sriracha, worc. sauce, soy, etc. TIP: taste a bit along the way to make sure everything is good to go. Again, good base recipe but -1 star for it not being stellar on its own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 380) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tasty Tuna Burgers

See how to make truly tasty tuna burgers.

Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes

Make spicy tuna cakes using basic ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Yummy Lemon Salmon Burgers

See how to make quick-and-easy salmon burgers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States