Tasty Tuna Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2003
My family is out of cash and we have canned tuna specially for these hard times, so making this recipe was perfect. It took 30 minutes to make from start to finish along with cooking baked potatoes. Everyone absolutely loved this recipe and the cost is so low even paupers like me can live like kings. (stomach-wise) hehe Seriously, this is a lightning fast, budget friendly and super yummy recipe.. it is also very forgiving when you dont have all the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
317 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2002
This was a fantastic recipe. I have made tuna patties in the past and this recipe had the best flavor and consistency...similar to crab cakes. I added a bit more bread crumbs...about 3/4 cup total and served it with some southwestern flavored sour cream dip, but tartar would be good. I also made these on my George Foreman grill. Just spray the grill with oil spray and cook about four minutes. No need to flip or anything. Highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
217 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2002
Recipe pretty good as is, but next time, I will make the following changes: use regular bread crumbs--not Italian flavored. The oregano was overpowering. Also, use green onion and not regular. I think celery salt can be used for celery, and like other reviewers, I left out the dill all together. I added cajun seasoning, and although it was spicy, we loved it. I will definitely make these again with the above listed alterations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
217 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2003
I was suprisingly pleased with this recipe, the burgers were easy and delicious. However, my suspicions were correct, one can of tuna will not make four burgers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2002
These tuna burgers are excellent. I made the "salsa" (onions/celery/bell pepper/chili sauce, spices) a day in advance. I also microwaved it for a short time; I didn't want the veggies to be too crunchy. I agree that refrigerating the patties helps them stay together when they are being pan fried. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2003
I'm always trying to find new recipes during lent, and I know I found a keeper this time. Yum! I made these twice. The first time they came out very soggy, but with good flavor. The second time I increased to bread crumbs to 3/4c and that seemed to help. Also deleted the bell peppers and increased the hot pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2002
Very good. Interestingly enough, I found that they blend perfectly with a side dish of Bush's BBQ flavor baked beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2001
I didn't have chili sauce, so I put in a bunch of chili powder and lots of RedHot sauce. They were great! Even better cold the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2002
These were excellent. My husband and I enjoyed them so much that we had them twice this week! I grated some carrot to put in, and next time, I think I will add some frozen niblet corn (we love the cruch of corn in turkey burgers too!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
I've been using allrecipes for a few years now, but never opened an account until just now to review this delicious recipe. Being Lent, I had my doubts that any non-meat burger would be tasteless and just wouldn't compare to the real thing. Though I find this particular recipe more similar to a crab cake rather than an actual burger, it is still one of the most delicious thing that I can say has come out of my kitchen. The patty was moist, packed with flavor, cooks at super speed, easy to make (one bowl, one pan, one fork, one spatula), and is just overall comparable to the much more expensive cousin, the crab cake. I eliminated the red bell pepper (because I didn't have any), and eliminated the chili sauce, hot pepper sauce, and burger fix-ins. I also used albacore tuna (I can't imagine this this being super fantastic if the chunk light tuna was being used), which can be found in huge packs at Costco, or any other wholesale store. When I was cutting up the onion and celery, I had my doubts. I usually do not appreciate crunchy vegetables inside cooked food because of textural differences. However, for the few minutes it took to cook the patty, the vegetables turned out PERFECTLY. Not too crunchy, not too soggy. I made some for my mom, who is my toughest critic, and she LOVED them! I am so grateful that I was given another reason to use those cans in the back of my cabinet other than to make bland tuna sandwiches! I will definitely be making these often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 381) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tasty Tuna Burgers

See how to make truly tasty tuna burgers.

Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes

Make spicy tuna cakes using basic ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Easy Tuna Patties

Serve these favorite tuna patties as an appetizer or a lunch sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States