Tasty Spinach Treats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2002
These are soooo good! I'm not a big fan of the nutmeg, though... I prefer to add just a touch along with some garlic salt. Also, you may use the fillo shells available in the frozen food section -- they're quick and tasty. The recipe fills about 45 fillo cups...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2001
I TRIED THESE SPINACH TREATS AND THEY WERE A HUGE HIT! THEY WERE GONE IN A FLASH. THIS IS THE MOST-REQUESTED DISH IN MY HOUSE. I HAVE ALSO CHANGED THE RECIPE BY USING BROCCOLI WITH CHEDDAR CHEESE AND SAUTEED MUSHROOMS WITH MOZZARELLA CHEESE. THANKS FOR THE GREAT RECIPE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2001
I love spinach and thought these sounded delicious. I found they were alot of work and weren't that good. I had a party for 45 people and ended up throwing out 3/4 of what I made. No one ate them. The biscuits were hard to separate and shrunk in the greased pans so it was hard to put filling in. They were "okay" when they were warm, but when cooled off no one touched them. I would not make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2001
Oh, yum! I had a little trouble getting a hang of forming the cups, but once I did, these were a cinch. They are sooooo good right out of the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2003
These were a huge hit at my party! I accidently bought "Grand" biscuits so I compensated by dividing into thirds. Found that making the spinach mixture in the morning and letting it chill until baking time helped with the ease of spooning into the cups. Also found that there was enough spinach mixture to make closer to 35 biscuits. EXCELLENT, DEFINITELY A KEEPER!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2002
I used a big muffin pan and the biscuits turned out great but the spinach mixture was not good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2001
These little appetizers were amazing. I made them for a potluck Halloween party. Everyone raved about them. They are much better when they are warm. Anita
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cornwall, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
I put these in wonton wrappers, and I'm glad I did. I made other apps w/ bisuits and they were too big and not enough filling once they were cooked. I made these stuffed and in mini cups, both were good. I used monteray jack cheese. I couldn't taste the nutmeg, but maybe I didn't add enough (I never measure anything).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DawnT77

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
These little appetizers are good straight from the oven, but not at room temp. I wasn't crazy about the biscuit crust, very "bready"...I'd like to try again with frozen phyllo cups. It would be more attractive and a little more delicate. Flavor of the filling was good; I added about three cloves crushed garlic to the onions, but noticed that the nutmeg flavor came thru a little too boldly. Maybe 1/2 tsp less would be better? Had lower-fat mayo on hand, and it worked fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakeside, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2006
These were really quite easy and were well received my by guests. I too, made the filling the morning of my party and found it set up easier chilled. I made two batches of these....and using the GRANDS or flaky type of biscuits creates a much better "crust" for these treats. Dont use the doughy biscuits, the result is just like a bread under the filling. Definetly a flaky crust tastes and feels more upscale. I seperated the biscuits into fourths and found they fit just fine in the mini-muffin pan. I also brushed a little butter on the tops of the crust before adding the filling. Thanks for the recipe...usually I am the one thinking "how did they make such a neat little appetizer"...it was too easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Spinach and Artichoke Dip

See how to make the ultimate cheesy party dip!

Hot Artichoke and Spinach Dip II

This hot dip is loaded with spinach, artichokes, and plenty of gooey cheese!

Hot Artichoke Spinach Dip

Your guests will love this versatile, cheesy warm dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States