Tasty Spinach Treats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
I'm really torn on how to rate these because I'm pretty sure I just discovered I hate nutmeg. Mr. LTH ate and enjoyed these, but I just couldn't get passed the overwhelming nutmeg taste, despite the fact I'd used only 1/2 tsp (1/3 of the recipe's allotment) of nutmeg. These won't be a repeater at the LTH house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
I tweaked this recipe a bit based on the other reviews and what I had on hand. I added a half of a pound of pork sausage (I needed a heartier appetizer) and then cooked the onion in the pan afterwards, so I omitted the butter. I used only about 1/3 of a cup of mayo and subbed the rest with whipped cream cheese and about 1/4-1/3 cup of milk (to make it a bit more moist). I used shredded colby jack because that's what I had; I also omitted the nutmeg, but added in dried parsley and garlic salt. I used the Grands as well and found that 1/2 puffed up pretty big, so I had to bake them about 15 minutes total. I also brushed them with melted butter before filling the cups (like suggested in another review) and it definitely finished them off well. They were pretty tasty, but I think I'll only add half of the spinach next time. I had alot of filling left and the sausage got lost in all of that spinach. Good base recipe though to add whatever you'd like. Crumbled bacon would also go really well in these cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
Excellent. I used the recipie as is and it was gobbled up at a friend's party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
This recipe sounded great, and looked great, but the filling did not taste good. I would go a more italian route and add garlic and parmesean cheese, egg, and waaaayyy less nutmeg and mayo. The filling tasted like eating hot mayonnaise. I would not make again, but would possibly modify and make the biscuit cup again with a different filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
These were great and so easy. I made them for appetizers along with the "Bacon and Tomato Cups" recipe from this site. Nice combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ModernSteph
Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
I put these in wonton wrappers, and I'm glad I did. I made other apps w/ bisuits and they were too big and not enough filling once they were cooked. I made these stuffed and in mini cups, both were good. I used monteray jack cheese. I couldn't taste the nutmeg, but maybe I didn't add enough (I never measure anything).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DawnT77

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
Everyone enjoyed this. Kind of different ... but pretty easy. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
These little appetizers are good straight from the oven, but not at room temp. I wasn't crazy about the biscuit crust, very "bready"...I'd like to try again with frozen phyllo cups. It would be more attractive and a little more delicate. Flavor of the filling was good; I added about three cloves crushed garlic to the onions, but noticed that the nutmeg flavor came thru a little too boldly. Maybe 1/2 tsp less would be better? Had lower-fat mayo on hand, and it worked fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakeside, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2006
I took these to a party, and they were a huge hit. They're good warm or cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
These were an amazing light lunch...used the normal sized muffin tins and it came out wonderful....my husband called them mini quiches....and we LOVE spinich quiche.....would also make a good appitizer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Spinach and Artichoke Dip

See how to make the ultimate cheesy party dip!

Hot Artichoke and Spinach Dip II

This hot dip is loaded with spinach, artichokes, and plenty of gooey cheese!

Hot Artichoke Spinach Dip

Your guests will love this versatile, cheesy warm dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States