Tasty Sesame Tilapia Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by pattmd25
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
It's different and pretty tasty. My husband didn't like the toasted sesame seeds I sprinkled on top (per another viewer's recommendation) The green onions on top were good (per another viewer's rec.....). My husband liked the fish recipe and so did I. Its a keeper :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
I halved the marinade and used two large pieces of tilapia. I also needed to bake it for about 15 minutes, but, my fish was thick. I'd repeat it but try marinading longer than 30 minutes. I couldn't taste the OJ. hubby loved the sesame oil flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
I never try a recipe w/o rave reviews, so I didn't think I'd need to change anything from what seemed like classic Asian flavors, but the balance was definitely off. Too many low notes- not enough bite. Needed more OJ or spice... or SOMEthing. My mom and I have different tastes when it comes to food so I thought she might like it since I didn't. No go. She didn't like it either w/recipe as written...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
We enjoyed a different taste for our much loved tilapia. I made it as written with the exception of adding some red pepper flakes...we love a bit of heat. And I did take the suggestion of other reviewers and added some cornstarch to thicken the sauce. I served some Thai noodles and pea pods with it to round out the meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
This comes together in about three minutes with ingredients every cook has on hand. With toasted sesames and green onion on top, it is quite a pretty dinner for a Tuesday night! Nice, simple flavor. I didn't add a full teaspoon of sugar because we don't really eat sweet foods. Baked for about 15 minutes and was perfect - even the baby enjoyed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaLizGa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten, Netherlands Antilles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jcarey1
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
Absolutely amazing! Super easy and super flavorful!!! I too added some cornstarch to the juices and I actually added it to a vegetable medley with a little extra soy sauce. Paired it with a good loaded mash potato and we were wanting more!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jcarey1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
Loved this recipe! It was tasty and easy. I did cut way back on the sesame oil tho. I used low sodium soy sauce, extra garlic and also added some chili sauce. I did serve it with toasted sesame seeds and scallions but it didn't realy need it. My son and husband loved it and they both said they want me to make this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DawnLeeW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hauppauge, New York, USA
Living In: Selden, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
I followed the recipe exactly, and it was good. If I make it again, I will halve the marinade ingredients and marinate in a bag, then dust the damp fish with corn starch before baking because I would like it to get a little crispy on the outside. Of course, the pan would have to be greased if I do this. (I would try flour, but I have to keep it gluten free.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Manalapan, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Thanks for the inspiration! I used 1/8 cup low sodium soy sauce, 3 tbsp dark sesame oil, 4 cloves garlic, 1 tsp grated fresh ginger, a splash of mirin, 1/4 tsp orange extract, and 4 tbsp of sesame seeds and the marinate smells delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
Delicious! I took the marinade and boiled I'd down to a syrup and poured over the tilapia before I served it. My picky eater gobbled it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Baked Tilapia Parmesan

The whole family will love this crispy baked fish.

Lemon Garlic Tilapia

See how to make a mild baked fish that’s quick, healthy, and flavorful.

Easy Baked Tilapia

Prepare a healthy and delicious meal in just a handful of minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States