Tasty Sesame Tilapia Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by DetectiveL
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
Wow, this tasted even better than expected. I added toasted sesame seeds and sliced scallions on top of the fish to serve. Also, I stirred in about 1 tbsp cornstarch to the marinade after I took the tilapia out of the oven (for 3 servings).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DetectiveL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
The original version of this recipe is worthy of 4 stars, but by adding toasted sesame seeds and some Thai red chili paste it easily becomes a 5 star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
Such an easy and flavorful recipe. I didn't have orange juice and substituted with apple juice. I also used fresh ginger (grated and squeezed the juices out)and it tasted awesome. I intend to make this many more times and try different types of fish. Thank you for a delicious and healthy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
I'm always looking for new fish recipes, and my husband and I both agree that this one is a keeper! Great for an Asian-themed meal; served it with Jasmine rice, sweet-cooked carrots, and steamed broccoli. I topped the fillets with toasted sesame seeds and sliced green onions as suggested by previous reviewers. I did use a good quality (brewed) low-sodium soy sauce, and we did NOT find the dish at all salty as mentioned by a previous reviewer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: St. Peter, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Mosheim, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
This is a great recipe! It was quick, easy, and delicious! It will be something that I make often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by My4boys
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
I knew I was going to love this recipe and I was right. Anything with soy sauce and sesame oil gets my attention right away. I made the marinate first thing in the morning and had this for dinner. The tilapia soaked up all that wonderful flavor. Mmmm so good! (I did top off with some toasted sesame seeds)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4boys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
Absolutely wonderful! I love how the fish came out so moist and light. I cooked the fish for only 9 minutes and I think if you cook it longer than that, your fish will come out a little over cooked. For those who thought the dish was too salty, I used low sodium soy sauce and my sauce turned out perfect. Very healthy dish that I will be cooking very, very often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
This was very good! Probably 4 stars for taste, but when you consider how easy and fast it is, and that you probably have all ingredients on hand when you decide on fish at the last minute, AND your preschoolers ask for seconds, it becomes 5 stars! We marinaded an hour and then grilled. I think a marinade all day would have been better. Put some toasted sesames on top. 1/8 of sesame oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
I tried this recipe with Rainbow Trout rather than Tilapia since that's what I had. It was very good, but I found it to be a little too salty, and would have preferred it a bit sweeter. Next time I would change it to 1/8 cup soy sauce and 3/4 cup OJ. As others mentioned, I garnished with sesame seeds and scallions and thickened the sauce with a bit of cornstarch at the end. Presentation was very nice - I served with jasmine rice and garlic scented broccoli. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by icesx

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
WOW! What a recipe. My girlfriend and I loved it. Will become a regular in our household. I read quite a few of the reviews and did what most others did. Cut the soy sauce and sesame oil in half. Also with the left over marinade i made a sauce with it and spooned on top of the fish, then added sesame seeds. One thing i will add next time is some kind of hot pepper, i to like a little heat, and found that was the only thing missing. Also next time make sure there's a extra helping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1WhiteTiger

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Tilapia Parmesan

The whole family will love this crispy baked fish.

Lemon Garlic Tilapia

See how to make a mild baked fish that’s quick, healthy, and flavorful.

Parmesan Crusted Tilapia Fillets

Turn five simple ingredients into a flavorful baked fish dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States