Tasty Sesame Tilapia Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
I followed the recipe exactly, and it was good. If I make it again, I will halve the marinade ingredients and marinate in a bag, then dust the damp fish with corn starch before baking because I would like it to get a little crispy on the outside. Of course, the pan would have to be greased if I do this. (I would try flour, but I have to keep it gluten free.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Manalapan, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Thanks for the inspiration! I used 1/8 cup low sodium soy sauce, 3 tbsp dark sesame oil, 4 cloves garlic, 1 tsp grated fresh ginger, a splash of mirin, 1/4 tsp orange extract, and 4 tbsp of sesame seeds and the marinate smells delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
Delicious! I took the marinade and boiled I'd down to a syrup and poured over the tilapia before I served it. My picky eater gobbled it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie Dawson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
Fits the bill easily, tastily. I frequent a chinese food restaurant that uses a recipe that very close to this and I wanted to try it at home. Well, this is much better! I doubled the recipe and used whiting instead of tilapia. It was great on a bed of rice with a side of tasty string beans. The bonus was that the kids absolutely loved it. I'll be adding it to the dinner rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
It was ok, the thinner parts were way overmarinated and I didn't like them but the thicker parts were good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BBMinx

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bowmanville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
I followed this recipe exactly and the rating is exactly what my family said!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dave Shapiro

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
This is awesome! I made the marinade as directed. But I did take the pan drippings and boil with dehydrated onion flakes, sriracha sauce, and tapioca flour (for thickening). The sauce brought it up to 5 stars. I served this on a bed of jasmine rice, steamed baby carrots and steamed broccoli, with the sauce poured over. Even my 3 and 5 year olds ate it. And that is saying something for them. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PROZA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Point, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
good but cut down on sesame oil
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
This recipe was delicious, but we made it with salmon instead of tilapia (our local store didn't have fresh tilapia). I must say it was fantastic! My whole family loved it and was very impressed. The best part? It was so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
This was good, though nothing to "write home about". I added a few grinds of black pepper, marinated for 2 hours, then served with chopped green onion tops. I'll try this marinade again, (it definitely needs the black pepper) but I've decided that I just don't like tilapia, so I'll be using a different fish next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BudsGurls

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 11-20 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Tilapia Parmesan

The whole family will love this crispy baked fish.

Lemon Garlic Tilapia

See how to make a mild baked fish that’s quick, healthy, and flavorful.

Parmesan Crusted Tilapia Fillets

Turn five simple ingredients into a flavorful baked fish dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States