Tasty Roasted Beets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
I thought the thyme was a big mistake, so even though this recipe would work without it, the recipe as it stands isn't very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
Very good! I lightly seasoned the beets with thyme and rosemary. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
Very easy to make and season plus it's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
Instead of Thyme, I used grated orange peel. It was delicious. I hate having to handle the beets so I wore latex gloves. I can see myself roasting the beets with Winter squash or sweet potatoes. This is so earty and basic. I just ate them as the entire meal with some browned butter on top. You can do things like that when you live alone...no husband asking where is the meat? Just beets and some crusty bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Winona, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
SO good! I even left the skin on to get more vitamins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
Yummy! Got some beets in a CSA and didn't know what to do with them. This was so simple and converted a whole family who had never had/didn't like beets. We just quartered them, because ours were so small. The MAIN thing is that we LEFT THE SKINS ON.... and they were GOOD! The skin added a crunchy texture; it was a lot like a potato skin. I will definitely keep doing them this way. I might experiment with the seasonings just for fun, but the thyme + sea salt was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
I omitted the thyme (purely because I forgot about it), roasted for about 20 minutes and these were wonderful! I have had beets but haven't cooked them before, and will definitely use this recipe again next time I am cooking beets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
I added aged balsamic vinegar, and a tiny piece of butter on each 1/8" slice. Had to roast for full 20 minutes. Added crumbled Gorgonzola cheese to the top. OMG, so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
I like this recipe quite a lot, I tossed my beets in some canola oil (I was out of olive so I substituted) and put in about 1/2 tsp. of rosemary and 1/2 tsp. of ground thyme along with a sprinkling of salt. I put them in the oven at 400 degrees and baked them for 45 minutes. Tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2013
My 2 1/2 yr. old loves these things! I was a little leery about using thyme after reading the reviews so I cut the amount in half and you couldn't even taste it,just gave a nice flavor to the beets. I also bake mine for 30 min. in a 400 degree oven so my fire alarm doesn't go off:)Just a note: make sure you allow one large beet or two small ones per person or you won't have enough. They usually reduce about a quarter to a third in size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Beets with Goat Cheese & Walnuts

This simple salad will turn beet skeptics into full-on beet lovers.

Roasted Vegetables

See how to make a simple roasted vegetable casserole.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States