Tasty Orange-Oatmeal Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
My family liked them but I found them to be a tad on the bland side. Although the orange flavor was really nice. I noticed that there was no salt in the recipe and debated whether or not to add some. I wish I had, it may have made a difference. My biggest complaint is that they stuck to the muffin papers. I accidentally put two papers in one cup and it stuck to both! I think it may be because the batter was too thin. I won't be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURASC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Healthy because they are not only low calorie (for a muffin), but low sugar. With skim milk: 136 cal, 22g carbs, 4g fat, 3g protein, 8 g sugar. Taste great. Hearty for a small muffin. Freeze well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berlin, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Winnetka, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
So easy and good. I added a little salt, a tsp of cinnamon and some flax meal. Used craisins instead of raisins because I like them better. Also, I wanted a little more sweetness on top, so I used about 1/2 cup powdered sugar and enough o.j. to make a thin glaze. I put a teaspoonful on each muffin, a couple of minutes out of the oven. Just added a little shiny glaze and a sweet orange flavor without being like a cupcake. Made 12. My batter did not seem to be thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Indiana Peggy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
Used choc chips instead of raisins and they worked perfectly. Substituted brown sugar with the white just for fun, turned out good, not too sweet just the way i like it. When it was still warm, it stuck to the muffin cups so badly when I tried to peel them away. I only got 3/4 of the muffin. But when they completely cooled, the cups peeled away like a charm. Just need to be patient ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
I juiced a few oranges and had leftover pulp so I added 2 tablespoons of pulp and 4 tablespons more milk to the recipe. I added cranberries instead of raisins which added some tangy flavor which I like with citrus. I baked the muffins 5 minutes longer and they turned out perfect and crispy around the edges but very moist on the inside. Super easy to make. Fresh and orange delicious. Love, Love, Love.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
These are very good muffins, not too sweet. Next time I will just make 9 or 10 because they were very small, and also replace part of the milk with yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
I used orange juice instead of milk and skipped the raisins. It had a great flavor. I made it as a loaf of bread instead of muffins. It rose well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
Good muffin. I cooked mine a little longer for a crunch on the outside, and it was still moist on the inside. Very good for breakfast. I added about 1/4 cup brown sugar, vanilla, cinnamon, salt and pecans, which made them even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2012
Added 1/2t allspice and used cherry flavored craisins. The batter was quite thin, but they baked nicely. The oats gave them a heartier texture which, to me, overpowered the delicate flavor. If I made these again I would sub flour for the oats to see if they would stand out more with a lighter crumb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.embee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
Delicious! It was my first time making orange muffins, I didn't expect too much from them, but I LOVE these! They have the perfect amount of orange flavor and the raisins give the extra sweetness to make them perfect! I will definately make these again! The perfect muffin to go with a cup of tea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Donut Muffins

See how to make mini muffins that taste just like cinnamon-sugar donuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States