Tasty Orange-Oatmeal Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
The addition of salt in this recipe would improve the taste of these muffins greatly. As the submitter suggests, orange zest is 'to taste', so I used two tablespoons rather than the suggested three, and found the essence to be very pleasant, not too strong and not by any means too weak, but the underlying flavor of the muffin is sorely lacking. The batter was extremely thin, like pancake batter thin, which had me worried, but they baked up perfectly moist and rose just past the level of the tin (bear in mind I filled the cups 3/4 full and only filled ten cups rather than the full twelve. I'm glad I did, as these wouldn't have been nearly as attracttive looking if I had divided the batter evenly as suggested). I chose dried cranberries over the raisins, the sweet tang of which saved these muffins this time. I really enjoyed the texture, the orange flavor, and the pleasant oatiness of these muffins. Made again, with salt, I'm sure this recipe will become a keeper, so thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
I altered this recipe to make a heartier muffin and they came out good! Nice orange flavor! I used regular oats. 1/2 whole wheat flour and 1/2 regular 2 egg whites instead of 1 egg added ground flax 1/2 milk and 1/2 orange juice added orange extract replaced the raisins with chocolate chips no glaze on top...sprinkled with turbinado sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Schenectady, New York, USA
Living In: Troy, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
Muffin with nice oatmeal texture and tangy orange flavor. Instead of the orange juice/sugar icing I made a streusel from another muffin recipe on this site. I had no problems with sticking, I use a jumbo muffin tin and just greased the tin with butter. I did not add the raisins to the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathleenO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2012
Added 1/2t allspice and used cherry flavored craisins. The batter was quite thin, but they baked nicely. The oats gave them a heartier texture which, to me, overpowered the delicate flavor. If I made these again I would sub flour for the oats to see if they would stand out more with a lighter crumb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.embee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
Loved them! The only thing I did was leave out the raisins because I don't like raisins but they were really good over all. I didn't have problems with them sticking because I oiled the muffin pan a bit with canola oil. Thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rene9109

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
used Splenda in place of Sugar and it turned out delicous!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meadow Brady

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Alma, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
These muffins had a good taste and texture but they stuck terribly to the muffins papers. By the time we peeled the papers off we were all left with just about half of a muffin. I don't know what the problem was but I was glad I wasn't serving them to anyone besides my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
So easy and good. I added a little salt, a tsp of cinnamon and some flax meal. Used craisins instead of raisins because I like them better. Also, I wanted a little more sweetness on top, so I used about 1/2 cup powdered sugar and enough o.j. to make a thin glaze. I put a teaspoonful on each muffin, a couple of minutes out of the oven. Just added a little shiny glaze and a sweet orange flavor without being like a cupcake. Made 12. My batter did not seem to be thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Indiana Peggy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
Good muffin. I cooked mine a little longer for a crunch on the outside, and it was still moist on the inside. Very good for breakfast. I added about 1/4 cup brown sugar, vanilla, cinnamon, salt and pecans, which made them even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
Delicious! It was my first time making orange muffins, I didn't expect too much from them, but I LOVE these! They have the perfect amount of orange flavor and the raisins give the extra sweetness to make them perfect! I will definately make these again! The perfect muffin to go with a cup of tea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States