Tasty Orange-Oatmeal Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 5, 2011
Love them! Added some flax and barley flour to up the nutritional content. The kids gobbled them up. *Did add the recommended salt*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
The addition of salt in this recipe would improve the taste of these muffins greatly. As the submitter suggests, orange zest is 'to taste', so I used two tablespoons rather than the suggested three, and found the essence to be very pleasant, not too strong and not by any means too weak, but the underlying flavor of the muffin is sorely lacking. The batter was extremely thin, like pancake batter thin, which had me worried, but they baked up perfectly moist and rose just past the level of the tin (bear in mind I filled the cups 3/4 full and only filled ten cups rather than the full twelve. I'm glad I did, as these wouldn't have been nearly as attracttive looking if I had divided the batter evenly as suggested). I chose dried cranberries over the raisins, the sweet tang of which saved these muffins this time. I really enjoyed the texture, the orange flavor, and the pleasant oatiness of these muffins. Made again, with salt, I'm sure this recipe will become a keeper, so thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
Loved them! The only thing I did was leave out the raisins because I don't like raisins but they were really good over all. I didn't have problems with them sticking because I oiled the muffin pan a bit with canola oil. Thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rene9109

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
used Splenda in place of Sugar and it turned out delicous!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meadow Brady

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Alma, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
I altered this recipe to make a heartier muffin and they came out good! Nice orange flavor! I used regular oats. 1/2 whole wheat flour and 1/2 regular 2 egg whites instead of 1 egg added ground flax 1/2 milk and 1/2 orange juice added orange extract replaced the raisins with chocolate chips no glaze on top...sprinkled with turbinado sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Schenectady, New York, USA
Living In: Troy, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gabrielle
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
I really liked this recipe! It was easy and quick to put together, baked wonderfully. The texture is great, but I found the orange taste wasn't very obvious so I might add more zest next time. The only thing I did that wasn't mentioned in the recipe was to flick some water in the over to create steam so that the muffin tops would be harder. Thanks for sharing the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gabrielle

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
Muffin with nice oatmeal texture and tangy orange flavor. Instead of the orange juice/sugar icing I made a streusel from another muffin recipe on this site. I had no problems with sticking, I use a jumbo muffin tin and just greased the tin with butter. I did not add the raisins to the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathleenO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
These muffins had a good taste and texture but they stuck terribly to the muffins papers. By the time we peeled the papers off we were all left with just about half of a muffin. I don't know what the problem was but I was glad I wasn't serving them to anyone besides my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-18 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Donut Muffins

See how to make mini muffins that taste just like cinnamon-sugar donuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States