Tasty Meat Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Coot226
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
I used 1.5 pounds ground beef, added fresh garlic when browning the beef with the onions. I cut up extra potatoes and carrots. I used 2 cans of veg beef soup and 2 cans of cream of mushroom.I did not add salt - there is enough in the soup.Then I let it simmer a bit on the stove while I rolled the dough - I used a top and bottom crust.It looked better when serving and was also easier to serve.I did turn the oven up to 375 about 15 minutes before it was done. It turned out GREAT.Thank you for sharing your recipe we will have this again. I made this again but added some frozen peas and frozen corn and I liked it much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coot226

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2003
First meat pie I ever made, and will be sure to make it many more times. I didn't have veg/beef soup on hand, substituted it with condensed cream of tomato soup. Added a little water and some peas. I cooked the potatoes and carrots by themselves and then added to mixture. Took the easy way out and used frozen pie shells. Easy dish to prepare but very impressive. Thanks for submitting it Tracy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2006
I received this recipe via email and it sounded good. But I'm a cardiac patient and pie crust isn't on my diet (and I don't like it, anyway). But I forged ahead and made the filling with the ingredients listed. I put the filling in a lasagna pan and baked for about 35 minutes. Then I made a batter using about 3 cups of biscuit mix and skim milk. I removed the filling from the oven and spooned the batter on top. I returned it to the oven and raised the temp to 425 degrees and baked until lightly browned (about 15-20 min). Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
4.5 This is very good 'comfort' food. :) I did use Tomato Soup as suggested by another reviewer in place of the Veg. Beef Soup. Also browned the beef & onion with fresh garlic. Added frozen peas at end. Instead of 2 pie plates, I used a deep 9x13 casserole & just placed a pie crust on top. I thought it was fine with just the top crust. Froze the leftovers & thought the reheated leftovers tasted just a good or better! This would be a good recipe to make ahead and freeze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tizzylizz
Home Town: Milford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2005
My family loved this. Very good! To jazz it up a bit I added a little shredded cheese and mushrooms. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2002
The whole family loved! Was looking for something easy to make, with ingredients I had on hand - this definately fit the bill. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2004
This was different alomost like sheperds pie. I made a mistake and used Veg Beef soup so there was no need to add carrots etc. I did cube 1 small potato and came out fine. I may make this again but use cream of beef soup, potatoes and frozen veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pine Brook, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Clifton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nana Sidek
Reviewed: May 1, 2006
This is awesome and I did add hard boiled quail eggs and it taste great and presentable too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nana Sidek

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jurong West, West Region, Singapore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2004
Another HUGE favorite of my husband and kids! It's so filling, and it makes two!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Englewood, Colorado, USA
Living In: Avondale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2006
It was Delicious !!! None left! Thanks Tracy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelliegirl21

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

How to Make Tamale Pie

See the simple secret to this 5-star ground beef casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States