Tasty Meat Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
I have made this a few times and we love it. I have frozen the extra pie as this filling will do 2 pies. The frozen pie tastes as good as the fresh. Basically follow recipe thru, I don't always use the extra carrots as the veg soup as enough for us. Great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cdnshaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
This was the easiest and the tastiest meat pie I have ever fixed. It went over real well with my real picky eaters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
We made this the other night for dinner and followed the recipe exactly with exception the addition of garlic and we added a bottom crust as well. The end result was ok - surprisingly bland....this would be a good recipe for someone just learning how to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
I make this regularly and for company, everyone loves it! If I don't have vegetable beef soup on hand I substitute a beef boullion cube in water. And I usually make my own butter pie crust. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
Really thought we would like this but it is bland, even with extra seasonings. Family didn't care for it--will not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
I followed the recipe with some small modifications. I simmered the onions with a clove of diced garlic before adding the meat to brown. I also used the frozen shredded potatoes (hash browns) and store bought frozen crust... the ultimate lazy dinner. It was delicious, good comfort dinner but not heavy. Heres my suggestion, double the filling recipe so you haven enough for a second pie and freeze the unused filling. It is soooo fantastic, you pull the frozen bag of precooked filling out, let thaw, and drop it into a waiting pie crust. You've got a meal on a night when you really didn't want to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raymore, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by me
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
our family loved this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2008
My boyfriend requested Meat Pie, and I am so glad I found this recipe! I had enough to fill 2 pie shells and gave the extra to my boyfriends dad. The dad immediately called us with compliments. The other was eaten with my parents & they absolutely adored it as well! Huge hit, Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by drmstr

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
i thought this was rather boring actually, and there were a lot of things that could have been improved upon to make a tastier recipe. also the vegetables need to be cooked slightly before putting in the pie or they will be hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Greenville, Mississippi, USA
Living In: College Station, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
Very tasty meat pie. Followed recipe exactly with exception of using pre-made frozen pie crusts. Next time, might use more soup (1 can ea.) to make pies a little more moist. Good, easy recipe! On a later occasion, made 2 more pies due popular demand. Used 2 cans each of cream of mushroom and beef veggie, (instead of 1 each). As per someone's suggestion, fried up fresh garlic along with ground beef and onion. Included canned mushrooms and added grated mozzarella on top before placing store-bought crusts on the pies. This gets better and better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint-Lazare, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

How to Make Tamale Pie

See the simple secret to this 5-star ground beef casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States