Tasty Meat Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 18, 2014
We thought it was a quick, easy, and delicious meal. I particularly liked the fact that it made two pies, one of which I froze and ate later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon
Living In: Southbridge, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
I just made this recipe exactly as written. We loved it. Carrots had a little bite to them. I like them that way but husband would like them softer. If you want the carrots soft, bake 10 mins longer and don't forget to let it sit 15 minutes after baking. I feared it might be dry, but it was not. Will definitely make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
I'm one of those people- I sort of made this recipe. But it turned out delish! I subbed pears for the potatoes, and added lots of veggies which probably really changed the flavor profile. But the base recipe was sound. Mine came out a bit runny, but that's probably the pears.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by januarysarah
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
This is even better as a leftover a day or two later. I found that I didn't have enough pie crust and actually needed one more due to the amount of filling it made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
This meat pie was great. I added celery and used dry onion. I used vegetarian vegetable soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
I have mad this twice and was a big hit both times... Thanks for the recipes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShepR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Layton, Utah, USA
Living In: Vernal, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
I just made this for dinner. It is a hit! I did not have condensed beef veg either, so used a can of tomato puree. It is very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JulieCooks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
I don't know if I did something wrong (I can't imagine I could screw this up because the recipe is so easy) but it was pretty underwhelming. The consistency was also very weird. With the 2 cans of soup, I was imagining this would have more of a gravy consistency but it's more along the lines of ground beef held loosely together with soup pudding. The potatoes definitely need to be cooked at least a little before it goes in the oven or else there will be too much of a crunch left in the potatoes (unless you cut them into very small cubes). I added red pepper flakes, a little cajun seasoning called "Slap Ya Momma", seasoning salt, a little sea salt, and fresh ground pepper. And while the meat was browning, I added about a clove or more of minced garlic. Before I put everything in the oven, I added 2-3 tbsp of butter because the filling just tasted off. The reason why I added 2 different kinds of salt is because I used low sodium soup. I'm hoping the flavors really come together tomorrow for the leftovers but the meal same day, was just ok. Which is a shame because since this makes so much, there's another whole pie filling sitting in my fridge. This recipe doesn't deserve to be thrown out but it definitely needs tweaking. I suggest if you want to try it, just halve everything so you make one pie instead of 2 and end up wondering what to do with the rest that you don't like (I'm hoping that by adding a beef gravy to the filling and then serving that with noodles will be good).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
These pies are the bomb! Sooooo good! Really easy to make and totally worth it. Per my husband,"These are A-ok in my book".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
Made this tonight. I had 1.5 lbs of meat so I added an extra can of vegetable beef soup as well as some garlic to the recipe. I also added only one potato to the mixture because the soup had potatoes in it. I made the pie with a top crust and liked it but my guys only thought it was ok. Unsure if I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westminster, Maryland, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

How to Make Tamale Pie

See the simple secret to this 5-star ground beef casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States