Tasty Meat Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2015
Great recipe! My boyfriend said his mother used to make him meat pie and asked me to make one. Well her recipe was a little plain so I found this one and made it. He absolutely loved it!! Make sure and let the pie stand it will thicken up and cut well, if not and u just die in like my boyfriend it's like a chicken pot pie and will be messy lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
We thought it was a quick, easy, and delicious meal. I particularly liked the fact that it made two pies, one of which I froze and ate later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon
Living In: Southbridge, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
I just made this recipe exactly as written. We loved it. Carrots had a little bite to them. I like them that way but husband would like them softer. If you want the carrots soft, bake 10 mins longer and don't forget to let it sit 15 minutes after baking. I feared it might be dry, but it was not. Will definitely make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
I'm one of those people- I sort of made this recipe. But it turned out delish! I subbed pears for the potatoes, and added lots of veggies which probably really changed the flavor profile. But the base recipe was sound. Mine came out a bit runny, but that's probably the pears.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by januarysarah
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
This is even better as a leftover a day or two later. I found that I didn't have enough pie crust and actually needed one more due to the amount of filling it made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
This meat pie was great. I added celery and used dry onion. I used vegetarian vegetable soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
I have mad this twice and was a big hit both times... Thanks for the recipes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShepR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Layton, Utah, USA
Living In: Vernal, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
I just made this for dinner. It is a hit! I did not have condensed beef veg either, so used a can of tomato puree. It is very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JulieCooks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
I don't know if I did something wrong (I can't imagine I could screw this up because the recipe is so easy) but it was pretty underwhelming. The consistency was also very weird. With the 2 cans of soup, I was imagining this would have more of a gravy consistency but it's more along the lines of ground beef held loosely together with soup pudding. The potatoes definitely need to be cooked at least a little before it goes in the oven or else there will be too much of a crunch left in the potatoes (unless you cut them into very small cubes). I added red pepper flakes, a little cajun seasoning called "Slap Ya Momma", seasoning salt, a little sea salt, and fresh ground pepper. And while the meat was browning, I added about a clove or more of minced garlic. Before I put everything in the oven, I added 2-3 tbsp of butter because the filling just tasted off. The reason why I added 2 different kinds of salt is because I used low sodium soup. I'm hoping the flavors really come together tomorrow for the leftovers but the meal same day, was just ok. Which is a shame because since this makes so much, there's another whole pie filling sitting in my fridge. This recipe doesn't deserve to be thrown out but it definitely needs tweaking. I suggest if you want to try it, just halve everything so you make one pie instead of 2 and end up wondering what to do with the rest that you don't like (I'm hoping that by adding a beef gravy to the filling and then serving that with noodles will be good).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
These pies are the bomb! Sooooo good! Really easy to make and totally worth it. Per my husband,"These are A-ok in my book".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

How to Make Tamale Pie

See the simple secret to this 5-star ground beef casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States