Tasty Lentil Tacos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
I love this recipe. Can't believe I waited so long to try it. I actually made burritos instead of tacos because that's what we prefer. You will not miss meat in this recipe. I actually prefer the lentils. If you haven't tried this recipe, you must. Thank you for sharing your recipe Michelle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
Amazing! I actually used pre-cooked lentils, which I had on hand. I still sautéed the onion/garlic, added only 1/3 cup chicken broth and the spices as stated. My husband could smell the lentils from the driveway, he was so happy it was coming from our house. This is a great, tasty, healthy recipe for anyone. My husband and I agree this was way better than ground beef and I'm known for my ground beef tacos. Good bye ground need, hello lentils. Thanks for this awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
I could eat these EVERY DAY. Although I double up on the spices and add some green olives. Also, sometimes adding a bit of red pepper for heat. Really, whatever I'd do to meat tacos, I experiment on these. My favorite everyday-recipe on AllRecipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by samara

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Lucky Noodles
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
This was better than my normal taco meal! I did not know I liked lentils, yes a different texture but very tasty. The only change I made was instead of taco seasoning I used: 1 teaspoon chili powder, 1/4 teaspoon cornstarch, 1/4 teaspoon ground cumin, 1/8 teaspoon dried oregano, and a pinch of cayenne pepper. To garnish my flour tortilla, I added shredded cheddar cheese, lettuce, sour cream, chopped tomatoes, jalepeno slices and hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Noodles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
FANTASTIC to make healthy nachos! I made these lentils for dinner one night. I placed them on a bed of tortilla chips, and added black beans and corn, then topped with shredded cheese. I baked them until the cheese melted. The kids were thrilled to have nachos for dinner. Topped with pico de gallo and sour cream. There was not a crumb left, and the kids each requested it again very soon. Even my husband ate it and had seconds. He is not usually fond of lentils, but he did enjoy this dinner! Thank you for the fabulous recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
When I asked my husband if this recipe is a keeper: "Oh yeah!" Only change I made was to use 1/2 tsp paprika in place of the oregano and added 1/4 tsp salt. The lentils cooked just over 30 minutes and then I let it sit with the lid off on the still hot stove; they continued to soak up some of the juice. Didn't even need to mash them. My baby loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaLizGa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten, Netherlands Antilles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
I have been making this for so many years and it is such a favorite that my daughter asked for it to be her birthday meal! I make it with veggie broth to keep it vegetarian. A great staple for a taco bar with healthy, yummy ingredients. Such a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
These are awesome! I made the recipe with the change of sauteing the onion/garlic in extra virgin coconut oil, as I never use canola. Also just used a whole onion instead of measuring out 1 cup. The lentils took 40 min before they were tender, and I didn't mash them at all. Love this recipe, and it will become a regular!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GINNY671

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
Our whole family thoroughly enjoyed these tacos. I substituted vegetable broth for the chicken broth to make it truly vegetarian and that enabled me to serve it to the vegetarian in our family. It is a delicious alternative to meat filled tacos. Thanks so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
WOW.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QUEENLUCY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 529) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States