Tasty Lentil Tacos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
"Owelreaowlyikeiess! Ensars! Ensars!" That would be my husband saying: "I really like this! 10 stars! 10 stars!" with his mouth full! LOL This was fantastic! Amazingly, the kids liked it too. I was doubtful... I took a chance... I am so glad I did! As far as changes go I skipped the oil and make the lentils in the broth along with onion and garlic. When almost all of the liquid was absorbed I added the seasonings. We used soy cheese and soy sour cream. The lentils were tender but not pasty. No more ground beef for us. If you are looking to eliminate meat or save $ then give this a try. You will be so glad you did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
Doubled the recipe except for the oregano and the salsa-I left those amounts as listed. Turned out perfect! Lots of flavor!! I'm definitely going to make this again for our taco/tostada nights!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aubrey, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
This was excellent - I followed the recipe exactly. My family is not keen on meatless entrees, but this went over really well. They asked me to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
My whole family LOVES this! My husband prefers them over ground turkey/beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
This is a family favorite at our house. We make it occasionally for taco night as a change of pace. My 2 year old seems to enjoy it better than beef or chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
Five star plus recipe! I've made these several times and thought it was time to write a review. These are absolutely delicious exactly as written. The perfect blend of spices. My family was a bit skeptical but they all devoured them just the same as if they were meat tacos with no complaints. Every time I make them, I keep thinking why have I waited so long to make them again...that's how delicious they are!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
Holy cow! I stumbled upon this recipe because I was looking for a recipe to use up the lentils living in our cupboard and WOW, we LOVED this meal. You couldn't even tell you were eating lentils!! Great meat-less meal. One of our favorites now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Soooooo good! Everyone loved these, even the 2 and 4 year olds. The 4 yr old ate 3 tacos!! I did replace the spices for a taco seasoning to make things extra simple and lots more garlic than called for. I also just served the salsa on the side since we do have little ones at home. Everyone asked that this be put into the dinner rotation. I love having one more vegetarian option for a meat eating family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
A taco tip that has never been better than for this recipe...I use whole romaine leaves for the lettuce in tacos. Hold leaf in hand, add fillings, then fold and set into taco shell. Works especially well with flat bottomed hard shells. Even after your shell breaks the lettuce helps hold your filling all together. Also keeps shell from getting soggy. This recipe is worthy of the glowing reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
What a FUN meal! We really enjoyed theses tacos. The lentils were cooked to perfection and was a great change from the normally used ground beef. We'll be having these again real soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 81-90 (of 529) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States