Tasty Lentil Tacos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
I wish I could have given this more stars! This was fantastic!! I used the filling recipe for a taco salad, and my carnivorous husband devoured it! So did my two little picky eaters! I would't change anything, but if your lentils are a little old, you may need to add more water and simmer a bit longer, as I did. Is definitely going to be added to the family cookbook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
I thought these were terrific. Everyone one loved these I will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nanciemartin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Coto De Caza, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
Ok.... coming from a picky eater who HATES beans & only eats meat & cheese on her boring tacos... these tacos were awesome!!! I used homemade seasoning & had to make up some salsa with what we had around (tomatoes, onion, garlic, dried cilantro, splash of lemon juice). I put organic plain whole milk yogurt, the lentil mix, cheddar cheese, avocado, & lettuce on mine. My husband added olives for his. I think these will be our regular tacos now & they're cheaper & healthier than ground beef! WINNER!!! I'm not a vegan expert, but we are working our way toward becoming weekday vegans & I think this recipe could be made vegan by substituting the chicken broth with vegetable broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
Easy and delicious. We like ours in soft corn tortillas, not hard shells.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
These are really delicious! I went mostly by the recipe, using the Taco Seasoning I and "Better than Bouillon" beef flavor for the broth. I am out of produce, so just put cheese on them & ate in a crisp taco shell. Didn't miss the meat at all & can't wait to try them as a "regular" taco with all the fixin's. So far, this is the first lentil dish I really like, and I will be making it often. Thanks for inventing it! Now I have a "Meatless Monday" dish to look forward to - it's better than tofu!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
Tasty is right... this was fantastic. A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CHETNEY
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
I omitted the salsa and added 1/3 cup more water :) SO delicious and my husband went crazy over them! What a savings on my wallet this week, lentils sure are a lot less expensive than ground beef or turkey! Enjoy this recipe, there is no reason not to try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHETNEY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
I loved this recipe...will definitely be making these again and again. My brother was surprised and didn't believe me; when I told him it was made with lentils and not meat...thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
With the exception of having older lentils which required more cooking time, this turned out extremely well! I, too, used homemade taco seasoning and veggie broth for our Meatless Monday dinner. Since I was serving this to our 5 year-old DD, I used an organic mild salsa from Muir Glen to taste. Meat-loving hubby enjoyed this too, and we both thought the lentils would also make a yummy filling for bean quesadillas as well. Used soft taco shells (personal preference), quesadilla queso (what I had on hand), shredded lettuce, guacamole (and a little extra hot salsa for me & the hubby), these were delicious, nutritious, and a cinch to get on the table. Will 100% make again and will happily recommend to others!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
I saw this recipe on the Buzz and then a friend made it & posted "faux toes" so I just had to try it. I'm looking for meals that require less meat trying to reduce our fat etc. I wasn't sure how I would like this and I certainly hid what I was doing for the meat & potatoes men I was serving lunch to. Well, I LOVED it. I didn't tweak it until it came to the men's, I added some taco meat to theirs. Alas, there is only so much I can spring on them at one time. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cat Hill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Fish Tacos

See how to make 5-star San Diego-style fish tacos.

Pablito's Chicken Tacos

See how to put a fresh twist on an old Mexican standard.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States