Tasty Lentil Tacos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
Easy make-ahead meal. Made tostadas. Layered fried corn taco shells, cheese and lentils, baked till melty! Soooo delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
I loved this!!! So much better than I expected. I've been basically vegan for a while now (not strict)so making dinners my kids like too can be challenging. They still want meat and I'm fine with that as they are growing boys. Lately when I've made tacos I'd use ground turkey but then I would just use refried beans in mine and avoid the taco meat altogether. Tonight dinner was amazing! So much better, fresher, tasting than any meat. Boys both scowled when they saw the replacement but after a few bites admitted that it wasn't bad at all. High praise around here. I couldn't stop eating it. I made it exactly as directed. I used the same Garden of Eaten taco kit I get in the organic section at Kroger and just used 1 TBS of the seasoning from the box. It felt a little wasteful when I could have made the seasoning from scratch but Garden of Eaten only sells kits and I'm not going back to cheap taco shells with all the addtional additives in them. I used the Kroger Simple Truth mild salsa and 2 (1cup cartons of chicken broth - will try veg broth next time but wanted to ease kids in slowly. lol ). The lentils were still a tad crunchy at 30 min but the liquid was gone. They mashed up fine and you don't even notice the bite to the beans since the shells are crunchy too. There is only a little left over from making 12 shells and I'm looking forward to lunch tomorrow. Thanks MK! Will have to check out your other recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
This recipe is truly incredible!! I thought it seemed so simple that it was too good to be true, but it was fabulous and flavorful exactly as is. Thank you so very much for a wonderful dish. I will definitely make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
I made this a few times, and it's super delicious! I substituted vegetable broth to make it vegan, and had to reduce the amount to one cup instead of 1 2/3, because it was too watery the first time. I also added about half a cup of taco seasoning because I love it so much. Because I dislike onions I substituted onion powder. It was simply amazing. I fed it to taco-loving meat-eaters and they thought it was better than the real thing! The salsa really adds to it if you pick one you like, I always use southwestern style salsa. I definitely recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
These were very delicious. At first the lentils didn't really want to stay inside the shells and kept falling out everywhere so I made the lentils into "refried" lentils by pureeing them instead of slightly mashing. They stayed inside the shells much more this way. Great with some avocados on top too. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buckwheat Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
I liked using lentils as taco meat, these turned out very good for us. Im a vegetarian so i used veggie broth instead off chicken. I also ran the finished product through a food processor just a few pulses for a texture we liked. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leanna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Fabulous. I doubled the recipe and did it just as it is written (except I threw in some zucchini to cook with the lentils). We ate it in soft tortillas instead because they're a little easier for my kids. Wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Lange

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
I was so shocked that even my pickiest of kids liked this. After dinner, my dear hubby said, "I just ate a vegetarian meal, didn't i... and I liked it?" I have never cooked with lentils before, so there was a learning curve for me. Thanks for the great recipe! I will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tigard, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
I was doubtful. Tacos without ground beef? Impossible!! I have been converted. Instead of store-bought taco seasoning, I used taco seasoning I (on allrecipes.com) because I was out and I have never used store-bought again. But back to the lentils. Even my meatosaurus hubby like them!! Healthy, cheap, and healthy. Did I mention healthy?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QUEENLUCY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
I thought these were okay. I make a lentil soup from the site, that had so much the same flavor. I think, I would have preferred tacos using a recipe like refried beans without the refry from the site. This just didn't give me that taco flavor. The lentil taste was just very prominent. I might like it more as a salad somehow. I didn't much care for the hard taco shells with it. Otherwise, it was quick and affordable to make. It also gave me more ideas to further this concept for non-meat tacos. I will have to see what my husband says about this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States