Tasty Lentil Tacos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
I was so shocked that even my pickiest of kids liked this. After dinner, my dear hubby said, "I just ate a vegetarian meal, didn't i... and I liked it?" I have never cooked with lentils before, so there was a learning curve for me. Thanks for the great recipe! I will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tigard, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
I was doubtful. Tacos without ground beef? Impossible!! I have been converted. Instead of store-bought taco seasoning, I used taco seasoning I (on allrecipes.com) because I was out and I have never used store-bought again. But back to the lentils. Even my meatosaurus hubby like them!! Healthy, cheap, and healthy. Did I mention healthy?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QUEENLUCY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
I thought these were okay. I make a lentil soup from the site, that had so much the same flavor. I think, I would have preferred tacos using a recipe like refried beans without the refry from the site. This just didn't give me that taco flavor. The lentil taste was just very prominent. I might like it more as a salad somehow. I didn't much care for the hard taco shells with it. Otherwise, it was quick and affordable to make. It also gave me more ideas to further this concept for non-meat tacos. I will have to see what my husband says about this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
This was so good. I made fajitas instead of tacos because that is what I prefer, but other than that I followed the recipe and can attest that it is awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larababe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
Easy healthy recipe. I try to stay away from dairy and this still tastes good without adding cheese or sour cream (I add lettuce and guacamole). Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
Delicious! I added the salsa in the last few minutes of cook time, and it was divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
We are not vegetarian by any means, but even the kids agreed this is a pretty good taco! Another good meatless meal choice. BTW...red lentils are the quickest to cook. I used 1 c. of lentils instead of the 2/3 c. and used 2 c. of chicken stock and it came out perfect. And the lentils completely cooked in 15 minutes! Also, red lentils tend to disintegrate when cooked so they're perfect for this recipe since you don't have to mash them! If you use green lentils you can count on doubling the stated cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Excellent taco filling. I suggest this to anyone who is learning to replace meaty meals with tasty meatless options either for health or to save money...this is not only tasty but extremely cheap to make, and lentils are a good source of fiber and protein too! I added organic frozen corn kernels and some black beans to the filling as well. Just be sure to check your package of lentils: mine called for 40 minutes of covered simmer time. I checked them at 30 minutes and they were still a tad hard so let them go the extra time. I don't think I'll ever make tacos with ground meat again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
Really good! My salsa was a bit runny so I had to let it simmer off a bit longer to thicken it. I also substituted vegetable broth for chicken to make it vegetarian-friendly. This was a nice alternative to the Vegan Bean Taco Filling from this site (also amazing) that I normally use for taco night. Thank you for sharing, MK!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROOBUNNY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
Sooooo amazingly good! No more fake veggie meat for me. Thanks for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States