Tasty Lentil Tacos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2015
A new family favorite! Very easy to make, and taste amazingly similar to normal tacos. Substituting veggie broth for the chicken broth make these an excellent vegetarian meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2015
This is so good. I love it. It taste great. It is also easy to make and very budget friendly. This is a definite go to meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2015
Okay I am kicking myself for not trying this sooner. Everyone on the buzz was raving about it! It is so easy and makes just enough! And tastes GREAT! I was buying the "Tasty Bite" brand "Madras Lentils" These give those a run for the money! I followed the recipe as written only changing 2 things, aded extra garlic and onion "personal taste" We all loved it! Will definitely be making this again, and again! Thank you so much for this wonderful meatless Recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Semigourmet

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Duluth, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2015
I really loved this recipe! It is a great alternative to ground beef tacos. I used low sodium vegetable broth and I used my own taco seasoning mix to cut down on the sodium and I baked my corn tortillas in the oven. The lentils took about 40 minutes to cook. My whole family really enjoyed them. Great way to have a meat free meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pina1998

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2015
I didn't like it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkiedash's muffins
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2015
Hated it! The lentils are never tender enough to be smashed - I left them longer until all liquid evaporated and they were sticking to the bottom, I added more broth, that evaporated and still the lentils were not tender. I decided to add the salsa anyways and eat as is, but the result mixture was SO salty I couldn't eat it. I didn't add any salt, it was just the combination of broth with taco seasoning and salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Graceyrose
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2015
I love this recipe. I make it exactly as written. I usually use it for tacos but have used it as a vegetarian taco dip at a party. I put it in a shallow bowl, melt cheese on it and add jalapeño peppers, black olive, sour cream etc... To the top. Served it with chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Graceyrose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Flemington, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
I'm really surprised at how flavorful this turned out. I added a can of diced tomatoes with green chilis and the whole thing turned out amazing. I will say that I cooked the lentils a lot longer than 25-30 minutes but it turned out great regardless. Super healthy, very filling with tons of protein, and incredibly easy to make. Definitely adding this to the regular dinner rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
With my changes this is 5 stars. 25/30 minutes was not long enough for the lentils to be softened. I cooked the lentils for 30 minutes and they were still incredibly. I had to cook my lentils for at least 45-50 minutes and even then I could've cooked them longer but I was too hungry to wait any longer! Because I had to cook my lentils longer I added more water and sprinkled in more taco seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
We used 6 inch flour tortillas (warmed at 350 for 10 minutes), and topped the lentil mix with shredded cheese, sour cream, and chopped cilantro. Excellent and filling at 3 tacos each, and the size we made them, it was enough for 9 tacos. Very affordable, too: my cost was maybe $5 for the entire dish. I will definitely be making this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Lettuce Leaf Tacos

Delicious tacos without the tortillas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States