Tasty Lentil Tacos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
I made this a few times, and it's super delicious! I substituted vegetable broth to make it vegan, and had to reduce the amount to one cup instead of 1 2/3, because it was too watery the first time. I also added about half a cup of taco seasoning because I love it so much. Because I dislike onions I substituted onion powder. It was simply amazing. I fed it to taco-loving meat-eaters and they thought it was better than the real thing! The salsa really adds to it if you pick one you like, I always use southwestern style salsa. I definitely recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
These were very delicious. At first the lentils didn't really want to stay inside the shells and kept falling out everywhere so I made the lentils into "refried" lentils by pureeing them instead of slightly mashing. They stayed inside the shells much more this way. Great with some avocados on top too. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buckwheat Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
I liked using lentils as taco meat, these turned out very good for us. Im a vegetarian so i used veggie broth instead off chicken. I also ran the finished product through a food processor just a few pulses for a texture we liked. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leanna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Fabulous. I doubled the recipe and did it just as it is written (except I threw in some zucchini to cook with the lentils). We ate it in soft tortillas instead because they're a little easier for my kids. Wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Lange

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
I was so shocked that even my pickiest of kids liked this. After dinner, my dear hubby said, "I just ate a vegetarian meal, didn't i... and I liked it?" I have never cooked with lentils before, so there was a learning curve for me. Thanks for the great recipe! I will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tigard, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
I was doubtful. Tacos without ground beef? Impossible!! I have been converted. Instead of store-bought taco seasoning, I used taco seasoning I (on allrecipes.com) because I was out and I have never used store-bought again. But back to the lentils. Even my meatosaurus hubby like them!! Healthy, cheap, and healthy. Did I mention healthy?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QUEENLUCY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
I thought these were okay. I make a lentil soup from the site, that had so much the same flavor. I think, I would have preferred tacos using a recipe like refried beans without the refry from the site. This just didn't give me that taco flavor. The lentil taste was just very prominent. I might like it more as a salad somehow. I didn't much care for the hard taco shells with it. Otherwise, it was quick and affordable to make. It also gave me more ideas to further this concept for non-meat tacos. I will have to see what my husband says about this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
This was so good. I made fajitas instead of tacos because that is what I prefer, but other than that I followed the recipe and can attest that it is awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larababe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
Easy healthy recipe. I try to stay away from dairy and this still tastes good without adding cheese or sour cream (I add lettuce and guacamole). Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
Delicious! I added the salsa in the last few minutes of cook time, and it was divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States