Tasty Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Very good side dish, but excessive amount of green beans for four people. Prepared the green beans as directed and sauteed the onion and garlic in butter vs margarine. Helpful Hints: in place of 1/2 cup of soy sauce, sub 1/2 cup low sodium beef broth to pan and let simmer for the indicated time. Last 3 minutes of cooking add cornstarch/cold water to thicken and 2 turns of low sodium soy sauce to the pan and continue reducing. No need to season with the salt as the recipe indicates as the soy sauce replaces it. For presentation toast sesame seeds and sprinkle on the beans prior to serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
246 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2004
On a quest to find a recipe which mimicked the local chinese food restaurant's green beans, I chose this look-a-like. Luckily, I didn't read any of the most recent review before making this recipe, as the beans ended up being absolutely delicious. (yes, it's salty but there's a freaking 1/2 cup of soy sauce! That only makes sense!) I didn't have any of the problems that the other cooks experienced, and I did not find the beans to be very "labor intensive". My only complaint is that I halved the recipe (for 2 people), and the cook time ended up being a little too long. If you like your beans a little crunchy, I recommend cutting back the simmer time. Otherwise, they are a perfect side dish for a weekday or weekend meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marlowe'sMum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
I modified this a bit just to suit my tastes, and to use the frozen French-style green beans I had on hand. I cooked the beans till nearly done, and while they were cooking, sauteed the onion in butter, rather than margarine, with some fresh minced garlic. I added a little chicken broth instead of the water and bouillon, which I assumed meant bouillon crystals. The amount of soy sauce, as directed, seemed excessive, so I just gave it a couple of shots. To this mixture I added the nearly cooked green beans, tossing to coat. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2002
These are in fact tasty. I decided to use my best judgement, I subbed Worcestershire sauce for the soy, because I agree with the previous reviewers on the salt issue. Oh, and I also sliced the onion so that it would be easier for the kids to pick them out. This made a lot of beans, 1/2 lb. per person is a bit much (tomorrows lunch for me)! Thanks Carol ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2002
Too much soy for our tastes-
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2006
I was curious about what the concoction of liquids would taste like, so I mixed in the soy sauce, bouillon and water but found it to be too salty! I increased the water to about 1/2 to 3/4 cup, added some sugar to give it dimension and then cornstarch (with cold water of course) to thicken the sauce to give it more cling, thereby providing more flavor to the green beans. With these modifications, it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pembroke, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Playa Del Rey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2006
After a couple of tweaks, this will suit my tastes. Not a cooked bean lover, but it's bean season, I needed something to add variety to my abundant beans. This recipe fit the bill perfectly! Taking tips from previous reviewers, I cut the bullion to 2 tsp. but still thought it salty. I'll omit it next time. I used 3 cloves of crushed garlic but will increase that to at least 4 next time. I only needed to simmer for 10 minutes so they were still a little crisp. The whole family enjoyed this and there were no leftovers. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2001
My kids loved this recipe. I've even made it with chicken broth when I was out of beef bouillon, and it's great that way too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DFLOROM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kearney, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2001
I did enjoy this, but it really takes all the goodness out of the veggie and that's the reason why you eat veggies!! It also had way too much soy sauce and will remember to cut back on the butter and the soy sauce next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sabrina P.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Henderson, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
I made these tonight to go with a roast and they were very tasty it was a good change from the regular green beans. I did not however have fresh greenbeans so I used a bigger can of caned green beans I drained them well and put then in a sauce pan. I then took some of the other cooks advice and only added half of 1/4 soy sauce. I did not have beef bouillon cubes so I took the beef broth from the roast and added it instead. I did everything else that the recipe called for and it turned out perfect not too salty and just enough flaver. Thank you for sharing this recipe and all the inputs too. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DomesticEngineer2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States