Tasty Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
Very nice change from plain old green beans. My picky boys ate seconds! The only change I made was to back off on the soy a little. It just seemed like a bit too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by docswife

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Morganfield, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
I've never had better green beans. I went with Worcestershire sauce instead of the soy sauce (way too salty!) and it was Fab-U-luss.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DomesticFemme

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
I modified this a bit just to suit my tastes, and to use the frozen French-style green beans I had on hand. I cooked the beans till nearly done, and while they were cooking, sauteed the onion in butter, rather than margarine, with some fresh minced garlic. I added a little chicken broth instead of the water and bouillon, which I assumed meant bouillon crystals. The amount of soy sauce, as directed, seemed excessive, so I just gave it a couple of shots. To this mixture I added the nearly cooked green beans, tossing to coat. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
If you want a healthy side dish this recipe is not for you. But if you have a family that will only eat beans or corn & you're looking for ways to dress them up because you just can't take beans and corn any more, then this recipe is for you! Seriously, it's very good. I use one beef bouillon cube dissolved in about 1/2 cup of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
Made this tonight and my boyfriend raved about it! I followed the suggestions of other reviewers and halved the reduced sodium soy sauce. Still tasted salty to me - but if you really think about it, salt is the first ingredient listed on the boullion, so common sense would say you practically toss in 2 Tbsp of salt right there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jeanette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ellenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
I really did like this recipe a lot, my only complaint is that it is a tad too salty. I even used reduced sodium soy sauce, and half the amount of bullion, next time I will use a little less. I used shallots instead of onions, and frozen steam in the bag green beans and it was still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Golan's Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manhattan, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
I'm not a green bean person, but I have to say this was pretty good and my family raved about it. I cut the soy sauce to 1/4 cup and increased the onion and garlic just a bit. Very flavorful. Will be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Millboro, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
Too delicious! Everyone loved these. Even my 6 and 3 yr old. I did only use half the soy sauce and boiled the beans a little longer. UPDATE: Just as good with 1 cube chicken bouillion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shawano, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
WAY too salty! I even cut back on the soy sauce and it was still all we could taste. I am going to try these again, using only a tablespoon or two of low sodium soy sauce next time. I like the idea of the garlic, onions and beef boullion with the beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
I make this recipe all the time. It gives my family a break from traditional old green beans. My family loves it and I have now shared it with others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Audubon, Iowa, USA
Living In: Clarinda, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States