Tasty Green Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
I found the flavor too complex; the ingredients argued with each other. In addition, the dish was a bit too unattractive for a special-occasion table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Prairiefire

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
Made this with a few modifications for xmas dinner and everyone really enjoyed it. I omitted the bacon and cheese, added sliced fresh mushrooms, water chesnuts and substituted chow mein noodles for the French fried onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shari Block

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
Great recipe. I added sliced fresh mushrooms to the mix and they went really well with the mushroom gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
Had 16 thumbs up on Christmas Eve when I served this tasty green bean casserole. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
Very good! I was excited to find this recipe because I did want a green bean casserole, but something with a little pizazz. My husband won a Honey-Baked Ham at work and this side dish perfectly complemented it. My husband (and stepson) loathe mushrooms, so I used Cream of Chicken instead. I also used 1/4 cup of bacon bits because I was in a bit of a hurry. I used green pepper instead of red and simmered both the onions and peppers in the butter. I then added the rest of the ingredients according to the recipe. It came out so delicious! My stepson has brought in his girlfriend for Christmas and she loves the "usual" green bean casserole but said she really liked this one! I was tempted to finish the leftovers but knew I'd look like a piglet! Definitely will make again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spicy Italian

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
Very, very good. I do not like the same ol' boring green bean casserole because I don't like the canned soup taste, but this sauce is so good I don't even notice it at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Kenmore, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
Very Good! and they will make me bring it next year. I will add more bacon next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MORUPE
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
This is a keeper!!! My only change was to triple the recipe and added the cheese to the sauce and then mixed in the beans. This still easily fit a 9 x 13 pan. I predict that this recipe will be a big hit in the future. The sauce would work well with all kinds of veggies or potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MORUPE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
Simply delicious. I got away from my normal green beans for Thanksgiving and went to a casserole. It's a normal casserole until you alter the taste with the wine, soy sauce and cheese. It was so good I made it again the next nite to go with the leftovers 'cause it was all gone the first day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Ukiah, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
I made this for my husbands family Thanksgiving dinner twice and they all loved it. We like to have the leftovers too!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States