Tasty Green Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
If you don't like green bean casserole and were hoping you could make this and finally enjoy it -- YOU WON'T. It isn't much different from the original -- which I hate -- and if you don't like the original you won't enjoy this either. I made it because my father-in-law likes green bean casserole and I hoped we could make this part of our yearly spread. I noticed he didn't touch much of it and didn't request any for his leftover package. We tossed 3/4 of a casserole dish full of this stuff. A real waste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
I would give this one a 10 star if I could. Everyone loved this recipe. The only difference I did, since I have to cut down on salt, was omitted the soy sauce and I didn't even add the salt and pepper to taste. I would have put the pepper in, just forgot. It tasted just fine. Soups tend to have a lot of salt in them anyway. Plus, I accidentally put in 1 cup of mozzarella instead of 1/2 cup. My Mom took home the recipe :) Another thing I did was buy a jar of real bacon bits. I cooked the onion and (whole) red bell pepper and put 4 Tble of the bacon bits in the butter. Yummy! This one is a keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SoaringDove

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
I loved this recipe so much last year at Easter that I searched through my 27 pages of side dishes so I could make it again this year! I've never been a big fan of Green Bean Casseroles until I tasted this one. The soy sauce, onions, and bacon, and red pepper mesh beautifully to spice up the old standard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
Great recipe to give you a nice variation on green bean casserole while making it still recognizable. I made a few changes based on what I had on hand and my laziness tonight. Used two cans of cut green beans, a bag of real bacon bits, dehydrated chopped onion, jarred roasted red peppers, worchester in place of soy sauce and two triangles of laughing cow instead of mozzarella, . Skipped all the stove top cooking since I didn't need to cook bacon and onions and just threw it all together in the oven. Came out very good and I will probably make again. Next time I'll use real bacon and onions as those are the perfect compliments to green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SnowWhite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
I have been using this recipe for green bean casserole for a few years now and to this day, we still love it as much as we did the first time I made it. All of the ingredients in this version work so deliciously together it should almost be against the law to make it any other way. It's a 'must have' at every holiday dinner I cook...Christmas, Thanksgiving, Easter, birthdays, anniversary. Everyone loves it. Bravo Andyknepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
This is a wonderful variation on the traditional string bean casserole. I will be making this recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Blackwood, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
I made this for Easter and everyone loved it. I am now in charge of green bean casserole for Thanksgiving :) I subbed out the canned soup with CREAM SOUP BASE FOR CASSEROLES(fat-free) Worked out fantastic. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burnsville, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
This was amazing! My daughter and I don't really like green bean casserole but this was great. I changed it up a bit because I didn't have all the ingredients,like instead of mozzerella i used shredded cheddar and no peppers and no white wine . It was amazing ...Everyone ate it all!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Worth the extra work, SO much better than the traditional recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Here are my changes to the recipe: I left out the bacon and mozzarella cheese. I also included 1.5 cans of the cream of mushroom soup instead of 1. Overall, I liked this recipe. I am sure it would have been fine with the bacon and cheese; I just wanted to reduce the cost and caloric intake. I was hoping the thawed french cut style beans that I had used would have been a bit more tender. (At the time, I didn't want to use canned beans.) That's the only reason for giving this recipe a 4-star rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Weyauwega, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: De Pere, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States