Tasty Green Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
I will never make the old traditional green bean casserole again. This dish smells so good as you are making it. I doubled the recipe for Thanksgiving. My mother-in-law who generally does not like green bean casserole said that it was "very good" and asked for the recipe. I used vermouth - would probably use a tad bit less next time as it was a good but strong taste. I also used onion salt in place of the onions that were to be sauted with the pepper since my family doesn't really care for onion pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
I made the regular boring green bean recipe for Thanksgiving last year I had made this particular one and FORGOT about it until last minute- so took the regular boring green bean and added the cheese at last minute-it was very good- however, this Christmas we are going with the Tasty Green Bean Casserole which got rave reviews last year. It is in my permanent recipe box now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Litchfield, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
Absolutedly Awesome!! I made this recipe for the guys at deer camp this year and doubled it to serve 16. Some of the guys never got a chance to even taste it - that is how fast it went. It was delicious and not your plain green bean casserole which everybody makes. I like to give my dishes an interesting twist and this certainly had it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Newburgh, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
I found this recipe somewhere else and the comments said "make this and everyone will ask for the recipe." My brother in law who doesn't eat green beans LOVED this! Everyone asked for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
This was awesome! Even my fiance gave it a 5 star rating, and he usually doesn't give higher than a 4! I used fresh green beans and parboiled them first, and they came out perfect! Will definitely be adding this recipe into my main rotation of meals!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lawrenceburg, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
Outstanding -- much better than the usual bland version. I'll definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
This had a toasted flavor that I didn't expect and didn't really care for too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corinne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
Really like the color addition of the red peppers, but the cheese was more an annoyance with its stringiness than a positive with flavoring. I think I prefer the original.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
This was a nice twist on the traditional casserole. The red peppers really added to the flavor--in fact, I think it could have used even more. I used fresh green beans, so the dish needed to bake longer. Plus, I omitted the bacon, caramelized the onions, and added a few french-fried onions into the mix. I didn't use milk, and I thought the dish was fine without it. The leftovers were even better. I'll definitely keep this for holiday dinners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
I made this for Thanksgiving and got lots of compliments, though some were disappointed that it wasn't my sister's "traditional" recipe with canned beans. I used fresh green beans...which turned out to be a bit tough (out of season), so I had to cook a bit longer at lower heat, but it turned out well. Next time, I'll use frozen beans and try topping with cheddar cheese and something "crunchy". This is definitely a recipe I can "work with"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States