Tasty Collard Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
This recipe is great! My family is still raving over these greens. The base recipe would be very good; I made a few adjustments: 1. 1 1/2 Tbsp Honey 2. Mixed Collard Greens & Mustard Greens 3. Seasoned with Smoked Turkey Wing 4. Cooked in Crockpot (low, 5 hours) I sauted the fresh, minced garlic in the olive oil before putting it in the crockpot. I added honey and salt at the end of cooking. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Excellent collard greens and so glad I didn't have to use fatback. I could not find a smoked turkey leg on Thanksgiving Eve but my grocer did have smoked turkey necks. I used about 3 necks out of the package. Once simmered and cooked well, I removed the necks and tore off small pieces of meat to add back to the greens (and discarded the boney parts). I had homemade chicken broth in the freezer to use. Recipe calls for FIVE bunches of collards. I had 2 large bunches and it took a long time to prep: washing, discarding the center stem and then chopping the leaves. It was worth it, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SCLadyA
Home Town: North Augusta, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
They turned out great. Along with the garlic, I cut up 1/2 of a onion and sauté together. I season with garlic salt as well. I cooked for several hours on low heat. About one hour before serving, I added five yellow chili peppers. I did not drain the greens, the juice is the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
These are the best collard greens. I get so many compliments when ever I make them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
This turned out so delicious. I used 3 bunches of collards with one whole smoked turkey leg. I only made 5 servings (using the recipe adjuster) which called for 3 cups of chicken stock, but I ended up using the entire 32-oz (4 cups) carton. After the greens were done cooking, I removed the turkey leg, let it cool and then shredded the meat and added it back to the greens. I also added a just a teaspoon or so of red pepper flakes. Other than that, I followed the instructions to the letter. Very, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
This recipe is the bomb!!!! I add a little sugar and vinegar...nothing better. I always get rave reviews about my collards. We love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
I was a little skeptical at first but these greens really are amazing! I did however use a smoked turkey wing instead of drumstick and added about 2 tablespoons of apple vinegar while cooking which gave it an special kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
Very good recipe! Going to add some extra ingredients like my dads greens..hope he shares the secret ingredients so I can come back and share!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: College Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
These were yummy! My family raved about them! One word of caution, though: watch the liquid levels toward the end. I scorched the bottom layer, because the broth completely cooked off. And I followed the directions to a T. But lesson learned! A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by clayzzle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gainesville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
I like to add sauteed onion and some minced jalapeno pepper (patti labelle idea) to make nice and spicy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ritajennings

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 264) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Roasted Beets and Sauteed Beet Greens

A foolproof method to cook beets and beet greens.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States