Tasty Collard Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
Delicious! An easy recipe too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
Everyone raves about these greens, every single time. I just use washed n ready greens but other than that, no changes made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maggiev
Home Town: Rio Rancho, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
I did something a little different with this recipe: I simmered smoked turkey wings with the broth, then chopped up some of the meat to add to the greens once they were cooked. I then added some fresh black-eyed peas and simmered a bit more till they were done (canned beans are good, too). I served it in bowls with the broth so it is more of a soup, and oh my is it good. Definitely a favorite of mine now. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Amazing! Delish!! Even got my "non" greens eaters to enjoy it!! Will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittany McCullough

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Good recipe, but 2 things i do differently. I always add some diced jalapeno for some warmth and sometimes I use smoked turkey kielbasa instead of the smoked turkey leg. The meat lovers here like the greens with chunks of the kielbasa. Also, I have found that it is easier to cook the meat and stock for a good hour before adding the greens. This lets you adjust the cooking time of the greens (sometimes my greens are really little and cook well in 10 minutes and sometimes really big and tough and take 40 min). You just add the greens and when they are done, you remove from heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
Perfect as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
This recipe is great! My family is still raving over these greens. The base recipe would be very good; I made a few adjustments: 1. 1 1/2 Tbsp Honey 2. Mixed Collard Greens & Mustard Greens 3. Seasoned with Smoked Turkey Wing 4. Cooked in Crockpot (low, 5 hours) I sauted the fresh, minced garlic in the olive oil before putting it in the crockpot. I added honey and salt at the end of cooking. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Excellent collard greens and so glad I didn't have to use fatback. I could not find a smoked turkey leg on Thanksgiving Eve but my grocer did have smoked turkey necks. I used about 3 necks out of the package. Once simmered and cooked well, I removed the necks and tore off small pieces of meat to add back to the greens (and discarded the boney parts). I had homemade chicken broth in the freezer to use. Recipe calls for FIVE bunches of collards. I had 2 large bunches and it took a long time to prep: washing, discarding the center stem and then chopping the leaves. It was worth it, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SCLadyA
Home Town: North Augusta, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
They turned out great. Along with the garlic, I cut up 1/2 of a onion and sauté together. I season with garlic salt as well. I cooked for several hours on low heat. About one hour before serving, I added five yellow chili peppers. I did not drain the greens, the juice is the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
This turned out so delicious. I used 3 bunches of collards with one whole smoked turkey leg. I only made 5 servings (using the recipe adjuster) which called for 3 cups of chicken stock, but I ended up using the entire 32-oz (4 cups) carton. After the greens were done cooking, I removed the turkey leg, let it cool and then shredded the meat and added it back to the greens. I also added a just a teaspoon or so of red pepper flakes. Other than that, I followed the instructions to the letter. Very, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 249) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

How to Make Beans and Greens

See how to make a rustic Italian-style beans and greens recipe with escarole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States