Tasty Collard Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 20)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
I've made these several times and they taste great each time. I do add some diced onions to the garlic for that extra punch. So easy to make but taste like you've worked over them all day. definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
Loved it! I substituted onion soup mix,3 buillion cubes and water in place of the stock, and use whatever smoked meat is available at the store. My family raved about these at Christmas dinner, and they have now become a regular at my table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
I made this recipe because of all the rave reviews and I must admit, that they are well deserved. This was my first attempt to make greens and they were absolutely delicious! The only modifications I made were: using 6 cups of chicken stock instead of 5, I also used 3 bags of pre-washed and cut greens, and instead of red pepper flakes I chopped about 4 jalapeños peppers to give it a little kick. This recipe is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
Very good! I didn't have a turkey drumstick so I used a few pieces of bacon. My husband who doesn't like collards actually ate these and loved them! I also topped with some Chow Chow Relish from Cracker Barrel - mmm mmm good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ILuv2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lilburn, Georgia, USA
Living In: Conyers, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
I've always been nervous about attempting collard greens, but this recipe was easy and delicious! Instead of fresh greens, I used frozen and cooked in a crockpot on low for 10 hours. It was flavorful and made a great addition to the bean and vegetable soup we made the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YMATLOSZ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
Having roots in the deep south, I must say the turkey surprised me... I had thought the only meat for greens was fatback or hamhocks a very nice change to say the least! I want to suggest for those who don't know, it's easier when chopping the whole leaves if you lay 4-5 leaves on top of each other and roll them up cigar-style and "slice" across about every 1/4 inch or so. We also add Louisiana Hot Sauce at the table to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Niles, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
This was really good. I don't like mushy greens so I only cooked about 55 minutes. I also used ham because that's what I had on hand. Definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
These collard greens are the best! I used another reviewer's suggestion and added about 1 tbsp each of sugar and vinegar. Really helped to deliciously round out my "Southern Style Christmas dinner."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
daaaaannnng!!!! this was the bomb! cooked it exactly as the recipe, i just took off the stems....a-1!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
These were soooo good! I couldn't find a smoked turkey leg, so I seasoned and baked fresh legs in the oven, then poured the juices into the greens while cooking them. I then peeled the meat and put only that in the pot. For the greens I sauteed the onions in olive oil, then gradually added the greens sauteing them also... This is something a friend taught me and it makes them taste even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harrisonburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 191-200 (of 263) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Roasted Beets and Sauteed Beet Greens

A foolproof method to cook beets and beet greens.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States