Tasty Collard Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
Very good! I didn't have a turkey drumstick so I used a few pieces of bacon. My husband who doesn't like collards actually ate these and loved them! I also topped with some Chow Chow Relish from Cracker Barrel - mmm mmm good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ILuv2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lilburn, Georgia, USA
Living In: Conyers, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
I've always been nervous about attempting collard greens, but this recipe was easy and delicious! Instead of fresh greens, I used frozen and cooked in a crockpot on low for 10 hours. It was flavorful and made a great addition to the bean and vegetable soup we made the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YMATLOSZ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
Having roots in the deep south, I must say the turkey surprised me... I had thought the only meat for greens was fatback or hamhocks a very nice change to say the least! I want to suggest for those who don't know, it's easier when chopping the whole leaves if you lay 4-5 leaves on top of each other and roll them up cigar-style and "slice" across about every 1/4 inch or so. We also add Louisiana Hot Sauce at the table to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Niles, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
This was really good. I don't like mushy greens so I only cooked about 55 minutes. I also used ham because that's what I had on hand. Definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
These collard greens are the best! I used another reviewer's suggestion and added about 1 tbsp each of sugar and vinegar. Really helped to deliciously round out my "Southern Style Christmas dinner."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
daaaaannnng!!!! this was the bomb! cooked it exactly as the recipe, i just took off the stems....a-1!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
These were soooo good! I couldn't find a smoked turkey leg, so I seasoned and baked fresh legs in the oven, then poured the juices into the greens while cooking them. I then peeled the meat and put only that in the pot. For the greens I sauteed the onions in olive oil, then gradually added the greens sauteing them also... This is something a friend taught me and it makes them taste even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harrisonburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
This was a big hit for the holidays. Excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
I added onions and garlic and crushed red pepper. The greens didn't need much seasoning after cooking. Try this, you'll be glad you did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
I've tried different collard green recipes, but this is hands-down the easiest and tasiest. My southern husband says they taste just like Grandmoms ... thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NiC.o.LiCiouS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 249) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

How to Make Beans and Greens

See how to make a rustic Italian-style beans and greens recipe with escarole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States