Tasty Collard Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
I add a couple of tablespoons of vinegar, bacon salt, and head of cabbage , and use smoked pork or other smoked meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Very, very good! Thanks for the great recipe. The smoked turkey drumstick gave it a great flavor. I cooked up some sweet onions in the oil along with the garlic and used cayenne pepper instead of red pepper flakes (family preference) like some other reviewers suggested and will do so again next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
I have made collard greens before not exactly to this recipe but very similar. I will definitley cook it in chicken stock next time and add some minced garlic. If you love okras try throwing in some whole okras in the last 40 minutes of cooking the greens. You can also season with ham hock meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teri22

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Sooo easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jjackso

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
This is a great recipe! My entire family loves it, and my husband is always bragging about my greens to his friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
I am so glad I came across this recipe. This is the FIRST time I've made collard greens where I actually enjoyed them. Even my daughters wanted second helpings. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
we loved this recipe. it was a hit on Thanksgiving...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
The Collard green was excellent. It was a very easy recipe to follow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
great recipe. I would add a couple of things. One, adding sugar cuts the bitterness. Don't add more than a couple of tsp because you don't want the greens to taste sweet. Two, I add a couple of tablespoons of vinegar. I use rice vinegar but I don't think it makes a difference. Three, experiment with seasonings. I add garlic, onion powder, season salt, and others that I have experimented with over the years. The red pepper flakes are definitely a must but should be added maybe a half hour before cooking is complete. Last, try experimenting with different smoked meats. I've found that a combination of smoked turkey and smoked pork takes my greens over the edge. I have sliced fresh tomato handy for folks to cut up in their greens and a little pepper soaked vinegar. Been making greens this way for years. Never had one complaint and I am always asked to cook the greens at every occasion. Experiment and find combinations that you and your family will love
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
GREAT!GREAT!GREAT!So good no one will want to ad a dash of ANYTHING to them when your done , there just that good! So easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 263) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Roasted Beets and Sauteed Beet Greens

A foolproof method to cook beets and beet greens.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States