Tasty Collard Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
These were the best collards I've ever made. Even my 17 yr old son ate them and liked them. He said "it's like bacony lettuce". I guess bacony lettuce is good. The smoked turkey leg really adds a lot of flavor and a lot to meat to the finished dish. Served them with a pot of beans (also seasoned with smoked turkey leg) and cornbread. I am a convert. I'll never use ham hock again. Sounthern country cookin at it's finest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Galveston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
I've made this twice now and I love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
Really good recipe for collard greens, especially for a novice in the kitchen! Could not get a turkey drumstick, but was able to use a ham hock instead which offered great seasoning as well. My children all had extra helpings and asked for it to be served again!! Thanks for such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
We substituted swiss chard for collards and cooked it on a slightly lower temp for less time. I also used a ham hock instead of the stock and turkey leg. But it was a terrific starer recipe and I was very happy with the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MUSHY1127

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
This recipe is very similar to mine. I would only offer that crushed red pepper is essential!! Excellent job ANADRI!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
Great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by houston_mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
I put my own twist on this a bit .. I boiled the smoked ham hocks for a couple of hours until falling off the bone, in water not chicken stock....then added to the boiling water onions, garlic, salt and pepper (red pepper flakes are a little too much for my family). I also added about a half of a teaspoon of liquid smoke to the water for a smokier flavor. I added the greens and boiled for about an hour, they were perfect. The final touches are vinegar and sugar (a must) before serving. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
Always a hit! Great dish to make a large batch of and refrigerate so you can eat when you want it. I use cured pork belly/ bacon instead of turkey since the smoked turkey drumstick is somewhat hard to find in our area- surprisingly enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
I made these last night for dinner. I have been cooking my greens this way for years, but instead of the Turkey drumstick, I normally use ham hocks. This time I put a twist on it by adding a bunch of mustard greens and the greens still turned out very delicious. My husband and daughter could hardly wait for them to finish cooking. I think, I will continue adding mustard greens to the bunch; it seems to bump up the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
This is my go-to recipe! I impress all my southern family members with this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Precious

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 250) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Utica Greens and Beans

Tasty beans and greens with escarole, pancetta, and a bread crumb topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States