Tasty Collard Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
As a southern girl living in MN, good soul-food style collards are non-existent unless I am on a road trip back home or make them myself, although I never got it quite right. I made slight variations to this recipe and now they taste like I have worked in a soul food restaurant for years! I forgot to buy turkey legs, so I used smoked pork neck bones instead. I also added a tiny bit (1/2 tsp or so?) of Liquid Smoke near the end, as suggested by another reviewer. They are amazing! I think the Liquid Smoke may have been what I was looking for but couldn't figure out. Thanks for posting this recipe for collards like I remember having back in LA!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ruston, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Roseville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Absolutely wonderful! I made this for Thanksgiving, and it passed my son-in-law's taste test. I used smoked ham hocks and omitted the salt pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Huntertown, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
AMAZING!!! The flavor is perfect. These are by far the best greens I've ever experienced. Wish I could take the credit. I always put in lots of crushed red pepper flakes for an extra special kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lesserlynner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
Mmmmm...this is SO good. I used a huge bag of collard greens from Wal-Mart, used alot more chicken stock and just roasted a chicken to go with it, taking off one of the legs about half way through cooking and put it in the broth for my greens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
Made this for dinner with Fried Chicken. It rocked! It takes awhile to make, but boy is it good! AND, every time I've had Collards before I made this, I HATED them! I'm now a Collard Green lover! Also, forgot to mention that I used smoked ham hocks instead of the turkey drumsticks, and added 2 tablespoons of brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tawnie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
This is the first time I've made greens. I love southern cooking and I can cook and improvise pretty well so when I didn't see some ingredients in this dish I have heard added to greens I put my spin on it. I added about 3-tablespoons of molasses, 2-tablespoons of brown sugar and about a quarter cup of apple cider vinegar. It is best to add the molasses and brown sugar to the broth before the greens. I added the vinegar after about 30-min of cooking down. I used two bags of cut and cleaned collard greens. After it was done cooking I tasted the greens and added about 2-cups of hot water to balance the flavors. Came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
I'm a new cook & a guy. So I thought I would try to grow some collards in the garden & cook them. I didn't have smoked turkey so subst smoked pork I had in the fridge. Plus added a whole red pepper in the broth for about an hour. This recipe is almost as good as my Mom used to make. This is a GREAT recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chip

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
OMG this recipe is so the bomb. My family is from Panama and I did not grow up making or eating collard greens. I had a BBQ today for Sunday Night Football. I was a little apprehensive it being my first time and all. All my guest were saying these were the best tasting collard greens they ever had. I was so happy to hear that. Only thing I would hold back on the crushed red pepper flakes if you don't like hot food as well as I used season salt instead of regular salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
The amount of chicken stock was not enough for the medium high heat simmering for 45 minutes and I burnt the greens. Either simmer on low the whole time or add a LOT more fluids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
I have to say this recipe is outstanding. We absolutely love it. I am a southern gal who grew up with these comfort foods. I can honestly say my grandma would be proud if she tasted these. Oh, and my kids LOVE it! Thank you for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Fargo, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 267) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Roasted Beets and Sauteed Beet Greens

A foolproof method to cook beets and beet greens.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States