Tasty Collard Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2015
This is how I make my collards and I love it! I add in some sliced onion, and have made this with or without pork flavoring, but otherwise, this is a simple and delicious way to cook greens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2015
this is the best collard greens recipe ever!!! followed the recipe to the t and it came out perfect,will be on my holiday table from know on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2015
I made without the smoked turkey and it was fantastic! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
This recipe interested me as my New Year's meal was pretty "pork heavy" with a brown sugar ham and black-eyed peas with a ham hock. I thought the turkey addition would be really nice - and it was. I used 4 bunches of collared greens instead of 5 and a smoked turkey leg (brined for 11 hours with kosher salt, brown sugar, water, and liquid smoke and then *loosely* smoked on our grill). After greens had cooked down, I removed turkey leg and diced a bit of the meat and tossed that back in. Also added a scant tablespoon of sugar and a few splashes of white vinegar. I didn't cook for as long as it said as my greens were getting to a nice consistency and I didn't want 'em mushy. Really, really good. I would like to try this next year with a proper smoked turkey leg (couldn't find one this year) - I bet that would make it great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Kantola

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
I cooked this for Christmas (first time making collard greens, although I've eaten them gazillion of times) and they came out banging! Easy to make and worth the wait.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mohammed Ahsaf

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
I haven't even finished cooking these greens and they are so flavorful. I You definitely have to be the judge about the broth. I used the washed/cut bags of greens (2) and 4 boxes of chicken broth. I haven't even added salt yet. Make these greens people. Yummy yummy yummy :) Merry Christmas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
Perfect method for cooking your greens, very tasty. I actually prefer using turkey kielbasa instead of smoked turkey but that's just personal preference. Thanks anadri!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keona Solorzano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
It's true. These collard greens are a hit. I read the reviews and said this is too simple to be in law competing kind of good, against southern women who have been doing this for years but the greens are that good. Thank you so much for providing rookie cooks like me the opportunity to shut up women who swear to be the best. I am not a great cook but this recipe is easy. I used smoved turkey necks and had no problems! You must try this recipe if you like collards.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
This was an amazing recipe. My only additions were an onion while sautéing the garlic and I had to use bagged collard greens which wasn't enough. Since I'm not too such what a "bunch" consists of, next time I will use 4 bags of greens instead of 2. My family eats tons of this stuff so maybe we just need to double the recipe in general.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
I made this for Thansgiving for my family who is africa
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 266) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Roasted Beets and Sauteed Beet Greens

A foolproof method to cook beets and beet greens.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States