Tasty Collard Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2005
I have never made greens before and I looked at over a dozen recipies and called several people. I finally choose this recipe and it worked out great. My friend from Alabama even loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2003
This is very similiar to the way I've always made collard greens. I usually use fresh garlic, but I took a shortcut the other night and used canned roasted garlic chicken stock and surprisingly the greens turned out even better! Used a splash of cayenne pepper instead of the red chile flakes and served with hot sauce. Very good! (Forgot to mention I added an onion to the chicken stock as well)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2005
This was the 1st time I'd ever cooked collard greens. I sauteed a small chopped onion before adding 1 Tbsp (not 2) of garlic. It took quite a while to cook this but the smoked turkey drumstick added a nice flavor. I'd suggest tasting it at the end to see if you want to add any red pepper flakes &, if so, how much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2002
Absolutely delicious and yes, tasty! Cooking these greens in a mixture of chicken broth and smoked turkey promotes and outstanding and flavorful combination. Of course, I added my own touch somewhat by cooking the greens with a finely chopped small onion and replaced seasoning salt for regular salt. We'll enjoy this recipe forever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2005
This recipe was wonderful. I was a little hesitant at first because the recipe was totally different from any collard greens that I have ever had, but my husband and I thought that these were great! Even my three year-old said, "these 'gweens' are good, mama!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2004
I had never had collard greens before. After having them at a restaurant, I decided to try and make them at home. This recipe was fantastic. I even impressed some friends who grew up in North Carolina. (I live in Michigan) Made 8 servings for 5 people hoping to have left overs, but the bowl was empty at the end of dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2004
These are the best collard greens I have ever tasted. Whenever I make these I get rave reviews. Definitely a keeper. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2004
this recipe was great, and had a true and rich taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Great Mountain, Tortola, British Virgin Islands
Living In: Colleyville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
The greens were a huge hit. I purchased 1 bag of the precleaned/precut greens(still washed them anyway). Even my grandma commented on the greens, which means "I have arrived" !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PickettFence

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2005
Tasty and easy to make. This recipes is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 252) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Utica Greens and Beans

Tasty beans and greens with escarole, pancetta, and a bread crumb topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States