Tasty Collard Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
Great recipe. Thanks to this recipe I'm officially the greens cooker for the holidays. For this recipe I added butter to the olive oil when I sauteed the greens.I also added Goys's veggie seasoning, and took out the meat. The greens can out excellent. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
These are some of the best collards I've ever had, if not THE best. I have made these several times (in big batches) and there are never leftovers. I plan on taking them to my family's Thanksgiving dinner this year and will enjoy the compliments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
A quick easy way to make collard greens is in a pressure cooker. I cook them all the time. My favorite way is to put a little olive or vegetable oil in the bottom of the pressure cooker and brown two to four salted & peppered bone-in pork chops, turn the chops over after they brown on one side and brown for a few minutes and add a pinch of red chili flakes, chop the greens removing the bottom thick stems and add to the pot. (Be careful if the greens are still wet because the water will cause steam and splattering oil. Mix the greens with the oil and meat drippings then add water to the pressure cooker (the amount will depend on the number of chops & collards) you want a few inches in the bottom of the pressure cooker. Put on the lid, add the pressure valve and bring to a loud hiss from the cooker, turn down to medium and cook approximately 15-18 minutes. Oh my the drippings from the chops will really add great flavor to the greens and now you have a meal in a pot. YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane Alexander

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
These came out great! I omitted the meat and used home made veggie stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunshine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
Maybe, im just use to collards made with ham hocks but this is not a keeper recipe. Trust me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
I have never been able to make greens before but with this recipes my greens always come out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elgin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
Great recipe! This is not my first time cooking collard greens, I just really wanted to try something different with them and I am so glad I came across this one first! Very, very delicious, my family tore them up! Husband was licking his fingers, my children couldn't stop complimenting me on the greens. Only thing I changed is, instead of turkey legs I used smoked turkey necks and I also added chopped onions along with the garlic. I will definitely cook my greens this way again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
I think I was "fated" to find this recipe! For the first time in my life (65 yrs) I bought a smoked turkey leg @ the WM deli, not really knowing why. (I also bought a chimichanga, which I'd never had!) I had collards, because I buy them regularly. By accident, I came across this recipe, and so glad I did! Fantastic! I had to stop myself from drinking all the broth! My friend and I both loved them, so I will be making them again soon. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
Made this recently for my husband, who is diabetic. I was trying to find some interesting ways to serve greens because they are so low in carbohydrates. This is my first attempt ever to make collard greens--and I've been married nearly 36 years. I have to say, they were WONDERFUL. I didn't change a thing about the recipe, followed cooking times exactly. My only question while I was cooking was, How big is a bunch? I was worried about using too much/too much little of the leaves compared to the liquid involved. Anyway, I ended up using a huge, 2-lb bag of cleaned, cut up collards from Walmart, and the leaf-to-liquid ratio was perfect, not to mention the convenience of not having to wash or chop. About halfway through the cooking time I added another cup of boiling water to the pot. I may not have had to do this, actually, but I was lazy: I wanted to leave the room without watching the pot constantly to make sure it didn't run out of liquid. The collards were soft and tender but not mushy or slimy. The flavor was robust with just the perfect amount of garlic. The shreds of smoked turkey sprinkled throughout the greens (I simply pulled the meat away from the bone while the leg was still in the pot) were not too much--it still tasted like a vegetable dish. The oiliness factor was just right. All in all, a really great side dish. This recipe will feed a crowd. There's only three of us, so we will enjoy the greens for a week. Love this recipe. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
This was the best of the best collard greens I've ever had! Careful though, adding even a touch of crushed red pepper at the beginning can make this too hot for some kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Boyd Reid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hutchinson, Kansas, USA
Living In: Modesto, California, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 268) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Roasted Beets and Sauteed Beet Greens

A foolproof method to cook beets and beet greens.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States