Tasty Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
These were really easy to make, but too sweet for my taste. I will see if I can reduce the sugar in the next batch, and if so then I'll stick with them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
These were a real hit with my family. We will make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KristyHH

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wathena, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
I made these buns in the bread machine on the dough cycle and then just rolled into buns and raised for 30 to 45 minutes. Very easy recipe and so I no longer have to buy them from the store! I also used 1/4 cup applesauce and 1/4 cup oil instead of all oil to cut down on the fat. These make very good hamburger or sandwhich buns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
Made these the other night for hamburgers and they were a total hit! Can't believe how easy they were and so much more flavor with a good burger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
These were very easy and didn't take much time at all (I did let them rise on the cookie sheet about 1 hr in an oven I heated for only about 5 min, then turned off). I followed other reviewers advice and was sure to beat the mixture at least 3 mins. I think this is what makes them lighter and fluffy, not dense. I made 11 large buns to serve my pulled pork on. They were perfect. I didn't alter the recipe at all but only used abut 4.5 cups of flour. I left the dough a little bit tacky. Whole family loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
Followed the recipe exactly and LOVED them! So simple, so tasty. I used half whole wheat flour and half white flour. I also made sure to use the hand mixer for the entire 3 minutes in the initial mixing and had no problem with the rolls being dense. They were very fluffy. As another rater said, I think the mixing allows some air to get whipped in the dough to make it fluffy. Very very good served as a sandwich roll or by itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
very easy to make,a little bit bland on their own but i will make them again, great for sandwiches, i ended up with more then 12 buns, a keeper in my recipe box
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
I made no changes. This is an amazing recipe. My impatient family all said that the rolls made dinner worth the wait, and BF even said he wants me to make them every week! My only comment is that the prep time is unrealistic. Factor in at least an additional 45 minutes to an hour for rising time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
I'm giving these buns a 5 based on serving them the day they're made. I got rave reviews when I served them to 50 people today. I don't feel they're as good unless they're freshly made. They're so quick to make, so why not make them when they're needed? By the way, I simply put all the ingredients into my stand mixer and mixed them up all at once. If they hadn't turned out so well, I would have reverted to the recipe's instructions. I've made them 4 times now. It's the recipe I'll stick to now. Update: I've made this recipe 10 times now. Just wanted to add a note: when doubling quantities of a bread recipe, don't increase the yeast amount - leave the yeast amount the same. Rising time doesn't change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
I always follow this recipe exactly as it says, and they always turn out awesome! I don't think I've ever made them and not had someone comment about how great they are. Whenever I need buns, I just whip these up because they're so simple and easy. When I pull them out of the oven, my husband usually eats 2 or 3 before I have a chance to pull them off the baking stone. Look no further for the most amazing buns you've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 367) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Split-Top Hot Dog Buns

See how to make perfect, buttery homemade hot dog buns with toasted sides.

Homemade Hamburger Buns

See how to make your own homemade hamburger buns.

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States