Tasty Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
This is a very simple recipe that anyone can follow. However, I modified my methods a bit. 1) Instead of vegetable oil, I used butter 2) Instead of milk, vanilla soy milk 3) I mixed the flower and salt together in a bowl, made a well in the center, placed the yeast in and then poured in the warm mixture (milk, butter, water) and let it sit for a minute or two for the yeast to activate. There was too much yeast, so I would suggest only doing about 1.5 packages of dry yeast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rnewbs
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
awesome. Used a mixer to stir the dough both times, left it nice and tender, but well kneaded, without me getting sticky. It was hard enough just to get it out of the mixer! Mine ended up rising twice, as I put it under the bowl, then had to nurse my son. By the time I got back to it i was doubled in size, but I cut it up and made eight good sized hamburger buns and eight hot dog buns. It cooks fast, keep your eye on the oven! I'm so glad I found this recipe, super easy and taste the way rolls should. I think butter could make them a little bit better, next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rnewbs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
I loved these. They were so easy to make! I made half the reciepe, not being sure if they would come out for me, but they did and they were wonderful! I used olive oil and honey instead of sugar. I also followeed the advice of someone below and I stirred it for 3 minutes by hand and it was not dense. It was the perfect texture to use on my bbq pulled beef. I will def. make these again. So easy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RatherBeCooking

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
Easy enough, but I didn't care for the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CBEST

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottumwa, Iowa, USA
Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
These were Great! We wanted to grill hamburgers today but didn't have any buns. So I made these and let me tell you they were a hit! I used quick-rise yeast. Tastes better than any storebought and did not fall apart.I also took care to mix the dough for the time suggested. I am going to try this as hotdog buns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
Excellent!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
I don't know if I made these wrong but they were too dense and heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
These were great had been on vacation on Bald Head Island and the local market had ran out of hamburger buns the night we decided to cook. No problem I had extra flour and we made these buns. Excellent and really rather simple. I will definitely make these again even when buns are available.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
Awesome! I am a very poor baker - and these rolls turned out perfect. I only needed 6 rolls so I cut the recipe in half and it turned out really good, plus it was so easy! Next time, I'll try adding some garlic for garlic rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: New Lenox, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
These are absolutely fantastic! I have made them 3 times now and they are consistently great!! I even froze them and just set on the counter over the course of the day to thaw, and they never had that strange frozen taste some breads get. I cut the recipe in half and used my bread machine's dough setting. I added all liquid ingredients first (I also substituted raw honey for the white sugar in the same amount) and then added flour, salt and yeast on top of liquids. Set it for dough cycle and let it do all the work. After it was done I simply shaped the buns and baked in the oven -- they smell amazing and are just delicious! I have used them as hamburger buns, sandwich buns, dinner rolls -- I can see these making fantastic cinnamon rolls too! This is a super easy recipe that is consistently wonderful. I will NEVER buy store bought buns again after these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 367) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Split-Top Hot Dog Buns

See how to make perfect, buttery homemade hot dog buns with toasted sides.

Homemade Hamburger Buns

See how to make your own homemade hamburger buns.

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States