Tasty Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
I loved the speed and ease of this recipe. The buns were pretty good, but on their own merit and without the quickness, I probably would do a 3 star. They were a bit sweet - I'd probably cut the sugar a bit next time. But I will definitely be making these again. Easy when it is pretty speedy. I let them rise in the pan for about 45 min and that was enough. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fast_as_I_can

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
LOVED This.....I actually put the dry ingredients into my Ninja blender, heated up the liquid in a pyrex measure cup, and added a bit of Mrs. Dash Garlic and Herb seasoning. This is such a NICE DOUGH! Perfect on it's own, and so easy! Nice to have a perfect base to add to, to make the breads your own! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Isle, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
I was looking for an easy recipe for buns and this is great! I made these so I didn't have to go out and buy some bread for sandwiches for the rest of the week. Great right out of the oven with a little butter on them. Will have with sandwiches tomorrow. I'm not sure about other people's reviews saying they are dense. I followed the instuctions almost exactly except I kneaded the dough a few times. I also only had 1/2 cup milk so I used an extra 1/2 cup of water. Mine turned out really fluffy. I put some sesame seeds on a few other them and will use those for hamburger buns. My batch made 15 total, 4 of which I made into hot dog shaped. Will make these again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
Holy cow, these were good! I did the whole thing in my KitchenAid, which made it super easy and fast. They rose well with the listed amount of yeast. I used white whole wheat flour, which made them a bit more "robust" than a white roll, but they were still amazingly good. We used them as hamburger buns and as sweet rolls (cut open with butter, brown sugar and cinnamon spread on them). My husband and I had to box them up and ban ourselves from the kitchen so we didn't eat them all! Thanks so much for an awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
I have never made buns or bread before (except in my bread maker) and these turned out fabulously! Thank you for the recipe. My adult son and his friends couldn't wait for dinner, however, and ate them all before the burgers came off the grill! They enjoyed them with homemade crabapple jelly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
wonderfull easy to make recipe that can be used for hamburger bun, garlic knots, cinnamon rolls and anything else you can think of. My family loves this one time and time again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
Really nice - I cooked them at altitude (mile high) and put in a bit less yeast and increased the milk (but not too much adjustment either way). Next time I'll check them at 10 minutes as they were very brown at 12 minutes; they weren't burnt, but I like a lighter bun. Very nice taste - went great with hamburgers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
Great for hamburger/sandwich buns. I made them for pulled pork my husband made in the smoker. I don't think that I care for them as dinner rolls, but my husband like them on their own, as did my 9 year old who rubbed his belly and proclaimed them "delicious". Very easy to make, too. No kneeding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
Despite problems I have had with breads in the past, I made these and could not have been more pleased with how they turned out. As suggested by another reviewer, I was sure to mix the ingredients the full three minutes (with a Kitchenaid) before adding in the final flour and they came out very light. They did have a touch of sweetness to them, but I like that--in fact, I am going to add a bit more sugar next time to see what happens. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
Sooo good! I used them for sloppy joes and I am going to try them with cabbage burgers next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lewistown, Montana, USA
Living In: Scottsbluff, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 370) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Split-Top Hot Dog Buns

See how to make perfect, buttery homemade hot dog buns with toasted sides.

Homemade Hamburger Buns

See how to make your own homemade hamburger buns.

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States