Tasty Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
This is the most amazing bread I have ever made- and I've made a lot. A touch more flour than was called for, but other than that its perfect. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
ADORE these buns! I make this recipie all the time now! No more store bought for us! Ive also adapted this for the bread machine, just 1/2 the ingredients (place wet on bottom, dry on top) and I added 1 tbsp more water because it was a touch too dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
Changed out flour for whole wheat flour and oil for applesauce and added about 1/4 cup honey .... These were yummy!!!!! But a bit dense especially if your thinking hamburg bun type... But delicious dinner rolls!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
I just made these buns. I have 2 bread machines so made 2 batches and just threw them in the machine on the dough setting. I added the ingredients differently though.Warm water, yeast, warm milk, oil, then the dry ingredients. After the cycle was done I just made 12 rounded balls and egg washed them. 15-16 minutes in the oven. They were a little bland, maybe a little dense. Add butter to them and YUM. Next time I will try hand mixing and sub butter for oil. I will keep looking for the right bun recipe though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amys6
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
Awesome recipe! I have no experience making buns but these still turned out great. I substituted one cup of whole wheat flour (just to make myself feel that these are somewhat healthy) and they are still awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
Used food processor b/c I have dough function. I didn't follow directions exactly first time and dough heavy. Suggestions for fluffy (beat runny for a while) second time and added a lot of lightness. Also, cover with plastic or cloth when rising so dough tops are not to flakey (doesn't lead to enjoyable eating with it so messy). Was told by family that they were much better than store bought!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
I have made these a number of times and they are always FANTASTIC! I am not a big baker, but you can't go wrong with these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Brydges

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Very easy and very good. Light and fluffy just like it said it would be. I halfed the recipe and made 4 very large buns. I think next time I will add some whole wheat flour- just didn't have any today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashlee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
Fantastic. After mixing in the last flour I knead for 10 minutes...just like regular bread then the buns will not be dense. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
I made these for a baby shower with chicken salad and they were a big hit. Everyone loved them! I even made them a few days ahead of time and froze them...let them thaw a few hours before the event and they were still fluffy, soft & delicious. My grandmother, a wonderful cook, raved about them and asked me for the recipe...the best compliment I could get. I did make a couple of modifications to the recipe including using 2.25 tsp of instant yeast instead of two packets (which I think is equivalent of one packet) and I used bread flour instead of all-purpose. And I kneaded the dough with my stand mixer for about 5 minutes. Wonderful recipe I'm sure I will use many more times. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 386) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Buns

The perfect taste, texture, and appearance for a hamburger bun.

Split-Top Hot Dog Buns

See how to make perfect, buttery homemade hot dog buns with toasted sides.

Homemade Hamburger Buns

See how to make your own homemade hamburger buns.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States