Tasty Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
Made these the other night for hamburgers and they were a total hit! Can't believe how easy they were and so much more flavor with a good burger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
These were very easy and didn't take much time at all (I did let them rise on the cookie sheet about 1 hr in an oven I heated for only about 5 min, then turned off). I followed other reviewers advice and was sure to beat the mixture at least 3 mins. I think this is what makes them lighter and fluffy, not dense. I made 11 large buns to serve my pulled pork on. They were perfect. I didn't alter the recipe at all but only used abut 4.5 cups of flour. I left the dough a little bit tacky. Whole family loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
Followed the recipe exactly and LOVED them! So simple, so tasty. I used half whole wheat flour and half white flour. I also made sure to use the hand mixer for the entire 3 minutes in the initial mixing and had no problem with the rolls being dense. They were very fluffy. As another rater said, I think the mixing allows some air to get whipped in the dough to make it fluffy. Very very good served as a sandwich roll or by itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
very easy to make,a little bit bland on their own but i will make them again, great for sandwiches, i ended up with more then 12 buns, a keeper in my recipe box
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
I made no changes. This is an amazing recipe. My impatient family all said that the rolls made dinner worth the wait, and BF even said he wants me to make them every week! My only comment is that the prep time is unrealistic. Factor in at least an additional 45 minutes to an hour for rising time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
I'm giving these buns a 5 based on serving them the day they're made. I got rave reviews when I served them to 50 people today. I don't feel they're as good unless they're freshly made. They're so quick to make, so why not make them when they're needed? By the way, I simply put all the ingredients into my stand mixer and mixed them up all at once. If they hadn't turned out so well, I would have reverted to the recipe's instructions. I've made them 4 times now. It's the recipe I'll stick to now. Update: I've made this recipe 10 times now. Just wanted to add a note: when doubling quantities of a bread recipe, don't increase the yeast amount - leave the yeast amount the same. Rising time doesn't change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINKIWI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
I always follow this recipe exactly as it says, and they always turn out awesome! I don't think I've ever made them and not had someone comment about how great they are. Whenever I need buns, I just whip these up because they're so simple and easy. When I pull them out of the oven, my husband usually eats 2 or 3 before I have a chance to pull them off the baking stone. Look no further for the most amazing buns you've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
despite my change in servings I followed the directions. In other words I scaled to 6 but put all the flour in at the beginning and they still turned our fabulous. :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Babin

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Prescott, Arizona, USA
Living In: Fort Belvoir, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
I made these buns twice in one day because the first batch did not work. I followed the recipe to the T and the buns didnt rise much and were super dense. I Made the recipe again and this time, mixed the flour with the salt and in another bowl, the rest of the ingredients. Once the yeast was foamy, about 8 min, I slowly added the flour until a soft dough formed. After rising I brushed them with milk/egg was and topped them with poppy seeds. They were flavorful and fluffy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
Thanks for the recipe!! I have been making buns for about 20 years and usually use my Mother in laws recipe. It has allot of steps though. Yours was easy and the dough has a nice consistancy. The flavor and texture were great. I will be using mine for hot ham and cheese in the crockpot. I am sure they will make unbelievable sammies!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 384) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Split-Top Hot Dog Buns

See how to make perfect, buttery homemade hot dog buns with toasted sides.

Homemade Hamburger Buns

See how to make your own homemade hamburger buns.

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States